We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something very special...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

As a senior solo traveler on her first visit to Canterbury, I chose to stay at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge to be close to the center of town. I must admit that it was finest hotel accommodations that I had during my trip to England. I was mesmerized by the view from my second story window – the Cathedral is awe-inspiring at night! I was impressed with the spacious room and the modern, sparkling clean en-suite shower room. The buffet-style full English breakfast was outstanding! Staying on the Cathedral grounds was something so very special.

Room Tip: Be sure your room has a view of the Cathedral. The view is simply breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusannahRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for leaving such a positive review on your recent stay – feedback is always appreciated and I will be sure to forward your comments onto the team. We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us on your first visit to Canterbury and thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay!

If you do decide to return to England I do hope that we might see you here again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

It is truely a unique experience to stay in this hotel inside the grounds of the ancient Canterbury catherdral - the fact the precinct is closed to the public a 9.30pm means you can wander the historical precinct as if you have your own private viewing.
The hotel itself is set in beautifully kept gardens and has warm and welcoming staff. As the building is relatively new the rooms are modern with some interesting architectual details such as large window seats and of course an amazing view!
The breakfast was superb, yes a little slow on the sunday morning but i have the patience to understand that on the busiest day in a hotels week and at the weekend everyone will come in probably one hour of an over two hours breakfast window - to the staff member who was being berated about the wait, don't worry we don't all think like that know it all fellow whose suggestion to move back to hot plated breakfast would loose a special element of the Cathedral Lodge experince.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaraTravels22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for the gracious review of your recent stay. We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable time and were able to make the most of our beautiful setting.

I also thank you for your patience and apologise for the delay in breakfast service as we have recently extended our breakfast offering and changed to waiter service for the cooked element, which we also feel does add to the overall experience. We greatly appreciated your understanding but will of course take on board your comments for the delay at busier times, as we seek to overcome these early teething problems.

We do hope you are able to return again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Set in the very grounds of the cathedral with wonderful views across the garden. When the visitors have gone you can stroll around the grounds - particularly good at night when the edifice is illuminated. Lovely room also with spectacular view plus excellent staff and enormous breakfast and pass to the cathedral included - excellent value for money. A haven just off the very bustling city centre.

If you intend to go to any of the services this is the place - literally opposite the entrance to where they take place.

Room Tip: I imagine most rooms will have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItsAllOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

Sincere thanks for taking the time to leave feedback for future guests and we do hope that you are able to return again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

the Lodge is a good quality hotel, with well appointed rooms, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, and a lovely breakfast room which serves freshly cooked food. The library is also a really comfortable sitting area, with a good range of (mostly religious) books.

It's principal attraction, of course, is its location within the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, and it's well worth the price for that alone, Apart from 'free' admission to the cathedral, you have lovely views, and the opportunity to have uninterrupted views at all times, in a quiet haven away from the tourist bustle.

While they don't offer food, there are several good restaurants within a five minute walk, and they offer discounts at several of them.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay there, and recommend it unhesitatingly.

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad rooms - all (I think) look out over the Cathedral, though it's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andymendus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for providing such a glowing review of your recent stay with us! The team here are immensely proud of our location within the beautiful Cathedral Precincts and we are delighted that you were able to enjoy the facilities.

Although we do not operate a daily restaurant we can cater for pre-booked groups, meetings and events and you are absolutely correct that all bedrooms in the main Lodge building offer a view of the Cathedral with the adjacent annex also being very close by.

We do hope that you are able to return again in the future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is the most tranquil and charming place to sty in Britain. The room are cosy but charming, the breakfasts are great nd the staff fantastic . This is my fourth stay and I can't wait until the next.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Simorjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for providing such a positive and succinct review. We are always thrilled to welcome return guests and we look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth stay!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 14th April. Friendly check-in and as we had pre-booked a parking space, that was fine - just outside the Lodge. Location was great, it was lovely to be so close to the Cathedral and to be able to 'get up close' to this magnificant building. Also really good to be able to walk to all the restaurants and places of interest.

Our room was very clean and well appointed, the bathroom was small, but at least it had space to put things.

Breakfast was excellent, well organised and very well cooked. Good choice of cold food - a very nice area and a great way to start your day.

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your glowing 5 star review and taking the time to share it on Tripadvisor! I have passed on your comments to our Catering Manager and Head Housekeeper, who were very pleased to read your feedback.

I do hope you are able to return to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent 5 teenage years in the precccincts of the Cathedral and this.. nearly sixty years later was my first return. Finding the hotel yards from the South entrance to the Cathedral, set back in an excellently sensitive new building complex was the first treat; the second was the warmth of welcome from the staff. My wife and I were delighted with all we saw and the way we were treated.

Being dependent on "disabled" facilities, when booking by phone, I had explained my needs and every part of them was met. The room with twin beds was "luxuriously and tastefully" appointed with stunning views of the Cathedral Bell Harry Tower looking out on to an enclosed garden. Breakfast, taken in a sunny and spacious room was a treat.

A Hotel "passport" allows free access to the Cathedral and there is ample parking. 2 nights of treasured pleasure.

Room Tip: Talk to Reception (or email them) Rooms on the 1st floor have marginally better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ant1austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer

We are thrilled that you choose to stay with us when returning to visit the Cathedral and Precincts with you wife! Such a glowing and thoughtful review is much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

I will be certain to share your comments with the team and we do hope that stay with us again if you decide to return to Canterbury in the future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,033 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: $128 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing