We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff, tiny showers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is architecturally beautiful, standing in the Cathedral close, and extremely convenient for everything in the town. The staff are literally the most pleasant and helpful I've encountered in 35 years of travel. Looking out to the cathedral on a sunny morning with the prospect of an excellent breakfast ahead of you is one of the great pleasures of a visit to Canterbury.

Only downside (and it's a very minor one) is that it was originally built as a study centre for the Cathedral, and therefore the bathrooms, although immaculate, have very small shower cubicles, and the water fluctuates between hot and cold in a rather disturbing way! Don' let this put you off, it's a delightful place. Not the cheapest but well worth it.

If you want parking, book it well in advance, as the amount of parking within the precincts of the cathedral is limited.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inmyprime_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the Lodge team.

Please accept my apologies for the difficulties experience with your shower, this is not something that we usually have any issues with and I am sorry for any inconvenience caused. Although the majority of our bedrooms have been built with showers, a small number in our recently refurbished Burgate Annexe do have baths, so please do bear in mind that this may be requested at the time of booking if preferable.

We do hope that you are able to return again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,172)
There are newer reviews for Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited Canterbury for a weekend to celebrate a 'special birthday'. We were delighted. The directions to the car park were quite clear and although we arrived a little early we were allowed in. We parked the car very close to the Cathedral and checked in to our room. Super room with delightful views of the Cathedral, the room was very spacious and warm. We like a cool room at night so once the windows were open we slept very well. Breakfast was buffet continental followed by freshly cooked English. The hotel price included free entry to the Cathedral and that is a must. We couldn't find any faults with our stay and hope to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suffolkgirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Your kind comments are much appreciated and we are delighted that you choose to celebrate a special event with us here!

We do hope that you are able to return again later in the year and look forward to seeing you again then.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for only one night, but it's one of the nicest places we've ever stayed and we wish it had been for longer! Room was lovely, service outstanding, location is unbelievably beautiful. Really special place to stay, where you will be well looked after (nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff) - and the breakfast is fabulous. Lovely touches everywhere. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathySB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting such a glowing review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice hotel centred in the heart of Canterbury. Most of the rooms have a lovely view of the cathedral and the hotel is placed perfectly. We had a nice two nights here and the staff were lovely! The rooms were clean, however the showers are very small and dissapointing for such an exepensive hotel.

The hotel has a nice library and serves drinks. Breakfast was lovely and the selection was good.

The bells can be annoying as they do go off a lot, however, with all of this said I will definitely be staying here again! It also looks very nice for conferences.

Overall, a very nice hotel with free WiFi! You also get lots of discounts on restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliottah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks reviewing your recent stay with us and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable time. All feedback is much and whilst we do acknowledge that most rooms have standard size showers without baths, some Burgate Annexe bedrooms do have baths available on request.

As we are fortunate to be located within the Cathedral Precincts, it is indeed possible to hear the bells ring for services / practice, which is usually felt to be a highlight for many of our guests and I am therefore sorry to hear that this was not an enjoyable addition to your stay on this occasion.
We do hope that you are able to return again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Really enjoyed our two night stay at Cathedral Lodge. Staff very friendly and helpful; room clean with lovely view of cathedral and gardens. Weather freezing but Lodge warm and welcoming, and a peaceful sanctuary away from the busyness of the city, especially in the evenings. Excellent location with easy access to city centre shops and tourist attractions. Good restaurants nearby - we used Deeson's and Cafe Mauresque as recommended by the Lodge and got 10% off bill. Also used free access to see Cathedral, and attended sung evensong.Our only minor complaint was that the room was too hot on the first night which made sleeping difficult, and on the second night we were disturbed by "noisy neighbours" who kept going in and out of their room and slamming doors! I would recommend this hotel and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in spite of the recent inclement weather and I have to agree that we are indeed fortunate to enjoy such a central location! Although I am sorry that you room was a little too warm on the first night, you may wish to know for future reference that the temperature can be manually adjusted in each room.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

All round lovely place to stay. Agree with all the positive things others have said previously, good breakfast, impeccably clean, attentive and friendly staff, and close to everything.
The only thing I would recommend, is for the lodge car park to be signposted clearly! It isn't obvious, You have to go down a tiny turning that says that only authorised people can go down...so we were going mad knowing it was close, but not being able to see it!! A phone call sorted that, but everything else was perfect! Thank you!

Room Tip: We had room 106 which has another exit door near by so you don't have to always go in and out th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anouska75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay – your comments are much appreciated and we are thrilled that you had an enjoyable time!

I am however sorry that you had some difficulty locating the entrance on arrival and although I am pleased that assistance was on hand, feedback is always taken seriously and we are in discussion with the City Council to gain permission to improve signage from Burgate.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

As a frequent visitor to canterbury, the cathedral lodge will be my new home.
Stayed three nights in early march and the whole experience was excellent.
Clean and spacious rooms, brilliant staff, and to top it off the location..
Having stayed in many other hotels and bed and breakfasts in the city this one is head and shoulders above the rest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaK867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for leaving such a positive review of your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge and we look forward to welcoming you ‘back home’ soon!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: $126 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing