We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view- EVER!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best view- EVER!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Being inside in the precinct was a special experience. We were on the ground floor. Felt a little like a "business" hotel (meaning I have been in this room before) but the view saves it. The room and bath were very clean and nice. The breakfast was a little bland but the room is nice. Reception was very helpful. Liked the library.

Room Tip: I think every room has a view- amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for providing a review on your recent stay with us - we are indeed fortunate to hold such a special location within the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral Precincts! We are always delighted to welcome a wide variety of both leisure and business guests to stay with us and aim to provide a great level of service and enjoyable stay for both. Rooms are all simply furnished to a high standard and as you rightly mentioned, they have a wonderful view!

We do hope that you are able to return again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    302
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
155
648
41
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here on the 17th November 2012 for out 18 month anniversary. We found it worked out better to park outside the Catherdral grounds than pay the £5 from 1500 (check in) -1100 (check out) Where if you park just outside, its 24 hours parking for the same price. When we arrived there, the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. We went straight to our room, where on the way we found some windows that you can open and close with a switch......We found it quite fun to have a wee play with the switch :0) Though weren't on the hall way that the windows were on.......

When getting into the room, it was very warm and found that the windows didn't open very much....
The room was small as was the bed, the bathroom needed more light as when showering it was dark.

But...The breakfast was fantastic, very very fresh......Overall the hotel is gorgeous, just the rooms could be a bit bigger. Customer service and cleanness very high standard........The location is slap bang in the middle of Canterbury, plus you got 10-20% off selected restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay with us and I am delighted that you enjoyed our central location, service and breakfast!

If the temperature in the room does need to be adjusted, the windows can be opened and the heating can also be adjusted manually to a suitable temperature.

All beds (singles and doubles) are of a standard size and although rooms were originally designed for use as a retreat, I am sure that you will agree that they are simply furnished to very high standard with a spectacular view from the window!

We do hope that you are able to return in the future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently held a two day conferance at this hotel for 23 delegates and could not have been happier with the fabulous loaction, the service was very efficient and unobtrusive and the facilities were a treat to use. Several deligates went away determined to come back with wives for a treat weekend. Special mention for the staff who made it for me with their charming efficiency.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your residential conference at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I am pleased that the event was a success and it is always delightful to hear that business guests also plan to return for a leisure stay as a result!

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was lucky enough to be taken to the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge as a birthday surprise last week and the whole experience was just great. The reviews are definitely justified! The location is simply fabulous, right in the precinct of the cathedral and we had a great view from our room. The staff were really friendly and welcoming (thanks!), the room was comfortable and nicely finished (and despite one of the previous reviews, I was able to control the heating manually), and breakfast was in a really bright, airy room (and served until later than other places we've stayed recently which was much appreciated!). Guests at the lodge can enjoy generous discounts in lots of restaurants in the city (we went to Cafe Mauresque which was absolutely delicious, a three minute walk away and 20% off the bill!) and we were delighted to learn we were also given free entry into the cathedral.

I think the most special thing for me was that, as guests of the lodge, we had access to the precinct at night after the gates have been shut to the public, and seeing the cathedral up close and all lit up was truly magnificent. I would heartily recommend the lodge to anyone paying a visit to this lovely little city and hope to return myself someday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPotatoHead81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for the delightful review of your recent stay at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your birthday break and do hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for one night, before taking a day-return on the Dover-Calais ferry, so we needed to be relaxed and comfortable. The Lodge fulfilled all of our expectations and more. The location, not just in the heart of the city, but actually within the cathedral precinct, is superb. The idea that a cathedral can get something so right in today's culture, without betraying its roots, is truly inspiring (instead of the past dominating, as it so often seems to do in such places!) So, we already felt privileged.
In addition there are 1) the generosity, convenience and security of the parking arrangements; 2) the free access to the cathedral; and 3) the dining discounts at a range of city restaurants and bars – all of which we enjoyed making use of.
Access sounds complicated, but in fact it was extremely helpfully explained and so it worked a dream.
The building is modern, attractive and pleasant to be in. The breakfast room with its ample, high ceiling, can accommodate a lot of people without it feeling cramped. We found the food and the service quite adequate to our needs. The library is a delightful, quiet space, a real rarity for travellers who like this sort of thing.
Our room was comfortable, convenient, well-maintained, and thoughtfully provisioned. For a longer stay, we might well have appreciated a table. As it was, we had to play Bananagrams on the bed!
Our impression of the staff was very favourable. They went out of their way to be helpful and pleasant, and the impression we came away with was that they really enjoyed and appreciated being able to work there as much as we enjoyed and appreciated being able to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Public Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge.

We do hope that you are able to return again and please do ask for a bedroom with a table when you book next time - we will happily provide, subject of course to availability.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had an absolute amazing wedding reception where Catherine (the events manager) was so helpful in every aspect and accomodating every request. The whole reception was organised seemlessly in 2 months and couldn't have asked for a better day or service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HP285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
To our Happy Couple,

It was an absolute pleasure to host your wedding reception at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge (yes it can be done in only 2 months!) and on behalf of Catherine and the Team we would like to wish you all the very best for the future and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Postives - Good location, great views from the room!! :)

Negatives - Qualty of the mattress was not good as we couldn't sleep and had a back ache at the end of our stay;

There is no manual control over the heating/ radiators in the room. At night, it got really hot and we had to open all the windows in the room;

House cleaning walked into the room wthout knocking

Room Tip: Take a cathedral facng room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCouple112009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury L, Public Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all feedback received from guests and I am delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful location and views. I also wanted to take this opportunity to address the issues raised. Please accept our apologies for being disturbed by a member of the Housekeeping team - this has been discussed with our Head Housekeeper and refresher training is being issued to all in order to ensure this does not happen again. Our mattresses are checked and replaced regularly in all bedrooms in order to ensure comfort and quality, however if you would like to contact us directly to advise which room you stayed in, we will certainly inspect this again.

Heating in each room can be manually adjusted by guests however if experiencing any difficulties with this, a member of staff is always on hand to offer assistance.

I do hope that I have satisfactorily addressed any issues that you may have experienced and hope to welcome you back to the Cathedral Lodge again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing