We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
brussels
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very nice hotel inside the precincts of the Cathedral. Very friendly staff, nice and clean rooms with a view of the cathedral and a good breakfast. The perfect place for a trip to Canterbury.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaspanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback. We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    316
    69
    21
    10
See reviews for
165
685
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Billed as a hotel and study centre, this was something of a "find". Set in the cathedral grounds, you get free access to the cathedral and the grounds to yourselves when it closes to the public at 9:00pm (although they do ask you not to wander around after 11:00pm).

Free wi fi.

Very quiet, peaceful and comfortable although only a shower no bath.

No bar but a decent "refectory" for breakfast and a library for study.

It's different from a standard hotel but very welcoming friendly staff. No good for a stag weekend!!!!

Room Tip: You can specify a cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLManager, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer,


We thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge and for appreciating the uniqueness of our venue.


We look forward to welcoming you back again.

My very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Can't fault this venue for its location, for the friendliness of reception staff, and for its quiet comfort and peace. Driving into the cathedral precincts we felt so privileged, and to return at night through the magnificient main gate just added to the sense that we had special access to a very privileged site. Rachel, the evening receptionist, could not have been more helpful and kind. And the room itself had everything we needed, including a bay window seat from which to gaze out at the floodlit cathedral.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my reassurances that I will be sharing the content of your review with Rachel and the rest of the team at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Lovely comfortable hotel. Though the architecture was modern it fitted it's medieval surroundings. How very clever of the architect!
The view from the room of the Cathedral was wonderful, especially at night. The hotel's position meant that gusts could walk in the Cathedral grounds after they were closed to the public up till 11p.m.
On the whole the staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly apart from the breakfast restaurant manager but that was made up for by the excellence of the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsChrisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. Please accept my reassurances that I will be sharing the contents of your review with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Comfortable room in modern settings. Could not have been closer to Canterbury Cathedral unless we slept there. Staff was very helpful and friendly, breakfast was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and how pleased you were with the customer service. We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in the country.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The website was promissing, nice pictures, good reviews on tripadvisor, but what a dirty hotel! Arrived in a clean reception, nice parkingspace on the cathedral house. We have booked in the older hotel, not in the new part. When we arrived at the sidebuilding and opend the door, the smell was terribel, blood on the walls, the carpet over the place wasn't cleaned in I think over 5 years... The room was spacious, but the toilet leaked on the ground, beds have old matrasses, and felt almost apart. Heating was broken.
Sheets were cleaned, but was the older sheets from the new hotel, the stains from the year before you could still see.
The day after that, the toilet was fixed,....., but was leaking heaver then before on the ground... Breakfast was normal, not exeptional.
And then I'm not speaking from the aironoise, and noise of the waterpump, that was like a train moving next to your room....
No spare room available, we did receive a small reduction on the total price, but that's it.
The only positive was that you can visit and walk around the Cathedral grounds, but that's it.
That was our 2nd worst hotel visit in the UK, after the Burston at Folkestone, but there was the fungus very good present....
Disapointment all the way!!! note I don't speak for the new part of the hotel, could be better...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLManager, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I am extremely disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us.
As stated we do offer our budget rooms as a low cost alternative to The Lodge bedrooms, however please be assured that guests can expect the same high levels cleaning, toiletries and high quality linen in all our bedrooms.
I completely understand how inconvenient it is to have any maintenance issues occur during your stay, particularly with the toilet facilities. We always try to rectify faults quickly and efficiently and if this is not possible offer alternatives. On this occasion you were given another single room to use the facilities, if we hadn’t been fully booked we would have happily moved you to a different room.
We also offered you a reasonable discount on your room rate as a gesture of goodwill, which, at the time, you felt compensated you sufficiently.
I’m sorry you had to endure this unforeseen problem but hope we dealt with it in the best way possible at the time.
The budget bedrooms will be getting a makeover in 2012; I hope we can persuade you to return to see the results.
My very best wishes

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

14 of us gathered for our annual get-together around the country.
All thought it positively the very best during the past seventeen years.
The rooms, the greeting, the care, the food - you could not better.
Of ourse, the fact we were within the precincts of Canterbury Cathedral enhanced the whole stay.
Nothing too much trouble and the peace and quiet gave us a haven to relax in.

Room Tip: No noise, no smells - we believe every room is a credit to all. Only ground and first floors - lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank probson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were delighted to hear how much you all enjoyed your weekend away. Please accept my reassurances that I will be sharing your kind comments with the rest of the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,914 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,082 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located accommodation in the City! Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is a unique and contemporary hotel, situated within the private grounds of Canterbury Cathedral, a UNESCO designated World Heritage site. In a peaceful environment but only a couple of minutes walk to Canterbury's many attractions, the Lodge boasts stylishly refurbished en-suite bedrooms overlooking beautiful gardens. Go to bed and wake up the next morning enjoying the breathtaking views of Canterbury Cathedral from your bedroom window. All rooms in the Lodge benefit from luxury furnishings, LCD screen TV's with free-view and there is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Guests also enjoy free entrance to the Cathedral, worth £12.50 per person. A full Kentish English Breakfast is served to guests in the Refectory Restaurant with additional alfresco seating on the terrace during the summer months. The Library and Campanile garden provide a unique and relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind. Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is the ideal base to explore Canterbury's picturesque cobbled streets, eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing