We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly oasis in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly oasis in excellent location”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was my second stay at Yorke Lodge and I am sure not my last.
Vicky has created a lovely home from home that exudes calm and comfort and service comes with a smile from all the team. There is a choice of accommodation that is equally good for families (first trip) or solo travellers (second trip) with well appointed rooms, modern facilities and really thoughtful extra touches that make such a difference to a weary traveller.
Breakfasts are excellent and served in an airy and interesting room overlooking the garden. A good choice of both continental and cooked food is freshly served along with a larger than average choice of drinks, which caters for most palates and diets.
The bustling Westgate area of the city is only 5 minutes flat walk away and the city centre only a couple more minutes after that. All of the city is easily accessed by foot and as there is parking available, the car can be left behind whilst you explore, shop, go to the theatre or eat. You can stroll along the river or up over the downs and along the Pilgrims' way if you feel more energetic.
A delightful place to stay in a really handy location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonRussells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    27
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
68
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I spent 1 night in this splendid little hotel. We arrived without a booking and were very lucky to find a vacant double room.
The building is a traditional English house beautifully modernized. The whole interior shows fantastic taste, this is a cosy, really homely place. The staff is excellent, very friendly and helpful, the room was spotless, stylish and very comfortable. The bathroom is very clean, nice and modern with a high-tech shower.
The breakfast was sumptuous and very tasty.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the center of the town, it is an ideal location for a city tour.

Thanks for the great place and the devoted service! We had a fantastic time, will definitely return and tell all our friends about it!
Attila and Kriszta

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttilaBognarTarjanyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Although we only live 20 miles away we rarely go to Canterbury. So for our wedding anniversary we decided on a night away, meal & change of scenery. Yorke Lodge proved to be an excellent choice. The welcome, rooms, service & food were all top notch. We had a room in the front of the house on the top floor. Road noise was slight and generally unobtrusive only on a couple of occasions did it disturb us. If silence is a virtue, request a room at the rear of the house.
Where Yorke Lodge excelled was the landladies assistance & local knowledge of the best river tours to take, best restaurant etc... all this made our stay a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Normally we do not stay at Bed and Breakfasts, but York Lodge has completely changed our outlook. The quality of the accommodation was superb, spotlessly clean with nice touches in the room- cammomille tea bags, nice little nic naks for the shower, biscuits and a magical self replenishing pot of foxes glacier fruits for that late night sugar tooth. Breakfast was excellent, with great coffee.

The owner, Vicky, was very friendly. It was great too meet someone who took such care in her business. The accommodation was full of repeat travellers, a tell tale sign that the place is top notch. I can understand why the place got 5 stars.

And you have Canterbury on your doorstep, 10 mins walk, some fantastic local pubs that set you back in time, Whitstable only a 15 min drive away, and the stunningly beautiful downs nearby too. You would be really hard placed to find a better short stay accommodation anywhere in England in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotsky1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very welcoming reception when we arrived after a long drive. Checked in quickly and given a key and directions up to our room. The room was clean and tidy, and the decoration felt very 'homey'. We had a room at the front on the 2nd floor. There was no noise from the road outside but we had the windows closed. It may be noisier in the summer with the windows open but the room seemed to have an air con unit.
There was tea/coffee/biscuits in the room which were restocked every day. The bed was made every day while we were at breakfast. The bathroom was clean and the shower was massive! Twice the size of a normal shower.
There was free wifi which we connected to in the room - makes a change from having to sit in reception to get wifi signal!
The hostess was extremely nice to us throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very at home. Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order - fresh local ingredients too and definitely butchers sausages and bacon.
The location was a short walk from the town and the area felt very safe.
Small flat screen TV in the room gave access to plenty of freeview channels.

We had a lovely stay at this B&B - couldn't fault it on any aspect. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingdivauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Yorke Lodge is in a good location; the centre of Canterbury is about fifteen to twenty minutes walk. We would stay there again; maybe Vicky is like Marmite. One of our group took a dislike to her, so we can appreciate "Eurosclerosis's" review. The rooms we had were lovely; well-equipped and spacious and clean. The breakfasts were very good and the lady serving us on the Sunday morning was very jolly and nothing was too much trouble - sorry I didn't ask her name now. We were glad of the off-street parking as we were able to walk everywhere and so not be worried about the car. We found Canterbury an amazing place, with its history and literary interests. It is a student city; we found the students fantastic. Both Canterbury residents and the students were friendly and welcoming. We touched the tip of the iceberg in our visits to "things to do", so we shall return to Canterbury. Apparently there are at least 48 public houses!! The B&B does apparently allow dogs; not many do. So that could be a bonus for dog owners.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the back during the warmer months as they would be quieter when the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sluis, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We live in the Netherlands and pop over to Kent easily with the euro tunnel. When we stay in Canterbury this is our place to stay. We feel comfortable in any of the rooms available especially the suite with the poster bed. The entire town house give us immediately the feeling of being in old England in a tasteful way. It is also easy to get into the main part of town to get the shopping underway. Off street parking is also an added value. Vicky, the host lady always makes us feel comfortable and offers local timely tips to make each stay a bit different each time.

Room Tip: The suite room is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 London Rd, Canterbury CT2 8LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a family run B&B located only 10 minutes stroll to the City Centre & Cathedral. Built in 1887 the house still retains many of its original features today. Now with 8 en suite bedrooms this is a quintessential Victorian Villa. Facilities include elegant breakfast room and sun terrace. All bedrooms recently refurbished & offer a comfortable ‘home from home’ feel but with all the modern day extras you would expect to see in a hotel. The B&B is dog friendly, has a lovely garden and is a peaceful oasis if you'd prefer not to be right in the city centre. Vicky O’Shea has owned and run Yorke Lodge for over 15 years and loves welcoming guests every day. You can be assured of a warm welcome, local knowledge and friendly, personal service throughout your stay. We are adding a conservatory in 2017 which will further enhance your stay at any time of year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing