We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Erhsam Lodge”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ersham Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ersham Lodge Hotel
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Wimbledon, London,U.K.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Erhsam Lodge”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is not a hotel - it is not even fit for purpose. Filthy reception area and the room should be closed for refurbishment; as indeed the hotelier admitted. Unfriendly member of staff, shocking facilities - bathroom door did not even close. We up-grade to a four poster, but the lace around the bed was disgusting! Whole place needs a refit. Could not sleep the night, had to drive back to London after a very long day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkwombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ershamCanterbury, Owner at Ersham Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are a small independent family business. Our guest booked in just after midday, and used the room with two other family members to change in to go to a wedding. Had she been dissatisfied with the room on arrival, she could happily have cancalled and no charge would be made. But she left with the keys for the remainder of the day, and then came back a few minutes before 10.00 that night and put the keys on the reception desk and left. She telephoned the next day and queried why she was being charged for the room, and threatened a bad review on trip advisor if the charge was not refunded. It is always disappointing for owners to be bullied in this way. We were prevented from re-booking the room out. Had she not wanted to stay, she could have told us on arrival.
The room had a couple of splash marks on the wall that we had recently painted out, but we have had guests only in the last three weeks who have been more than satisfied with that room. Neither we nor our guests consider us unfriendly, as evidenced by our thank you cards and the kind comments in our guest book; nevertheless, for those who read these comments, we would prefer for them to come and find out for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
16
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The staff were lovely, treated us like family! Breakfast was great too-lots of choice! Yes probably In need of some updating but it's not dirty or untidy and it's the people they just make you feel so welcome! If you are looking for a home away from home for a couple of nights, this place is great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAD742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed last week whilst working in Canterbury, I was made to feel at home, very pleasent staff. Highly recommended. Excellent breakfast, free wifi, what more can you ask for, very close to town too. Great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igglez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I can honestly say, as a group of four girls visiting a friend for the weekend, I was apprehensive of us all sharing the one room, both in getting ready and the sleeping arrangements. I was pleasantly surprised to find three ( one a double) REAL beds, no pull out, no sofa bed. Plenty of space, multiple mirrors and large bathroom. Happy girl.
The shower was big enough for two and with good pressure and temperature.
Breakfast was lovely, a good sized fry-up. Also plenty of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and condiments for toast. Need or want anything else, just ask.
The best part of the hotel were the owners. Lovely people, very friendly and approachable. They were also very welcoming of our friend we had gone to visit when she came over.
The hotel is quite dated, but that makes it all the more endearing.
If you want a modern, impersonal hotel/service then this place is not for you.
If you want somewhere where you feel at home and can go down to breakfast hungover in your socks if you please then this is the one.
Also, in terms of location it is great, very short walk to town.

We miss Diesel and hope to return.
Thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CH00GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Could't find it so rang for directions and could not be more helpful. Room was clean and secure which gives piece of mind when travelling by self. Plenty of Tea and Coffee in room. Lovely hot shower. Wish I had, had longer to enjoy my breakfast (I was short on time) which was lovely treat to have cooked breakfast. Nothing was to much trouble. Would recommend to friends and family. So close to city centre and parking not an issue either.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper has for a room at the back of the building. I am not used to road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this lodge for one night when dropping off our grandson to uni recently the breakfast was excellent but the rooms were a little tired and and somewhat dated, the price does not reflect what I would have expected. The people who run this establishment were very pleasant,and very helpful if they bring this into the21st Century they will have a thriving all year round guest house

Room Tip: not a lot to add to my review tired and dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My parents and brother stay at Ersham Lodge every year to visit me at Uni and they love it. When my mum phoned before this years stay and said about some of the reviews i was shocked at the spiteful tones.
Great location 2mins from the city centre, a breakfast you cant beat anywhere in Canterbury and the loveliest family who own it, nothing is too much trouble to them and they go out of their way to help you out.
Unfortunately their website appears to have not been updated yet but bathrooms are clean and modern and although not all the rooms are super-modern, they are clean and do not lack in what is needed for a great wekend. I have taken pictures of our family room so please take a look.
Its such a shame people dont speak up if they have a problem as the owners would go out of their way to make sure you have a lovely stay.
I have also taken pictures of the thank you card collection and lovely messages in the guest book to prove this is a welcoming and delightful stay!

Room Tip: Tell the owners if you need something or if you have a requirement and they always help you and do t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyT707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ersham Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ersham Lodge Hotel

Property: Ersham Lodge Hotel
Address: 12 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ersham Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing