We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$82
$69
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$196
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$106
$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$79
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
149
129
44
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
129
44
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy roundaboutcity centrecar parkring roadfamily roomb bfull englishthe main hotellovely hotelexcellent locationadequate parkinggood sizeshort walkcanterbury east stationsmall hotelleave the carbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 342 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night over Christmas. The hotel is very well located close the city centre and train station. The rooms are full of character and even though the hotel is close to a busy road, the windows are double glazed and there is hardly any noise. The breakfast is excellent - a real English breakfast. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank AnneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My three friends and I shared a comfortable family room. Great linen on the bed, good breakfast in the morning with amiable, helpful staff. Great location just a five minute walk from the high street. Lovely, large shower room. All four of us were very impressed and thought the family room was great value for money for a weekend break. Although we were there in February we could tell that the garden would be lovely in the summer. Even a proper hairdryer was supplied We would all recommend this guest house - it felt more like a hotel than some mid-range hotels!

The TV was not tuned into digital which we thought was a little retrograde. Other than that no complaints!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I was staying with my 19 yr old son. Great location 2 min walk from the Cathedral, shops and restaurants. Ample free parking, WiFi and the best twin share room we stayed in during our trip. Clean, warm and very well appointed. Staff were very friendly and helpful with a good, help yourself breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great location! Short walk into town. Free parking on site, a little small but works. Breakfast food was good but could have used more help serving.

Room Tip: Our room #8 was a nice size, but a light shone in behind the bed all night.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKemptynesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We booked direct as we were travelling with 1 year old twins so we wanted to make sure they had 2 cots and 2 high chairs that we could use.
All good on arrival - we got there around 1pm and they let us leave our bags in our room before heading into town.
We didn't have to pay on arrival - this is done on checkout.
Plenty of parking although it was busier when we returned later but there's a large public car park next door in case you are arriving late.
The rooms are pleasantly decorated - bathrobes, towels and tea/coffee are provided. The TV was mounted on the wall and had the equivalent of freeview.
We had asked for a family room although we didn't need the 2 extra single beds. After putting 2 cots in the room there wasn't much space left but the staff moved beds around to fit everything in.
The main plus point for us was that our double buggy could be wheeled into our room which was handy when one of the kids fell asleep on the walk back. We were in room 15 which is on the ground floor, round the back of the stable block. It has patio doors with a nice table and chairs outside. The room is also right next door to the secure garden - the entrance to which is down a steep set of stone steps - be careful with the kids though - it's very steep - you may chose to close the garden gate if you've got little ones running around.
Breakfast was very tasty and there was plenty of choice. There isn't enough seats for every guest to dine at once but most people came down as different times so there was only a very short wait. Staff were very quick to reset the table for waiting guests.
We were attending a christening and the staff were kind enough to let us leave our car in their car park until we left around 2pm.
We plan to return as the location is perfect, the staff are accomodating and the room are good sizes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenzanceRegulars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews