We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will back - Perfect in everyway”
Review of Tudor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tudor House
Ranked #29 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
lovethesunyeh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“We will back - Perfect in everyway”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I’ll leave it short and sweet:-

Gorgeous sixteenth century B&B, which oozes in charter.
Perfect location for Canterbury High Street & Cathedral, with the car park just a few minutes away.
Lovely owners - thanks so much Mazi.
Lovely room, extremely clean and very comfortable bed.
Excellent price.
Superb breakfast.
We will defiantly be returning!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethesunyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    22
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
35
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton,Ohio USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have stayed here on 2 occasions: in 2010 with a friend and most recently in the Spring of 2011 with my husband. I value my safety and this is an excellent place to stay: near the historical area of Canterbury, near shopping, restaurants, and the church I attend when in Canterbury-St. Augustine's right next door. The decor is traditional and clean, the proprietors are so helpful! A traditional breakfast is served and they make accomodation for early departures or modified diets.
If you want to stay in piece of history but still have good comfort THIS is the place to stay. The prices were very reasonable and there is access to car parking a short walk away. I hope to back in Canterbury and SOON and will plan to stay at Tudor House again.

Room Tip: We had a room with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thpeaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blean, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed at Tudor House for one night in Sept. They had special offer and considering the location, very much within walking distance to everywhere in Canterbury centre and owners so friendly, this was simply best value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dosefrhaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed one night here and it was exactly what we were looking for. It has traditional decor and very friendly owners with a nice breakfast. It really is in a great location and is excellent value for money The only reason I am not giving it 5/5 is because we had opted for a shared bathroom which was carpeted (a bit old fashioned now) and whose shower was too small for someone of my height!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGmanGla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I stayed at Tudor Hhouse back in June 2008 while travelling solo. I liked it so I brought my husband this year.

The proprietors are friendly and welcoming and breakfast is more than adequate. I loved my scrambled aggs:-)

It's a real Tudor town house so the floors aren't straight, nor are the walls. But that adds to the charm and from the top floor you have a view of the Cathedral! Everything in the city is within a short stroll...the Cathedral is 2 short blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeniwren11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Little quaint B&B located in the very heart of the historical city centre. As many other reviewers have stated, the hosts were incredibly friendly and welcoming. But its main selling point must be its fantastic location!

Although the facilities are pretty basic but perfectly adequate for a comfortable break none-the-less, it is its fantastic location and great value for money that make this place a wonderful option to stay in Canterbury. I know I am repeating myself, but if you are looking to be within a stone's throw of all the tourist attractions, restaurants and pubs, do choose this B&B as it will allow you to explore the town and then go back for a quick nap in the afternoon ;)

Despite a continental breakfast not being available (we found that a cooked full English breakfast was a little too much at 8 in the morning - and even though I absolutely LOVE a full breakfast, I just couldn't manage it on that particular day!) and opted for extra toast with jam instead, the host was very attentive and kept bringing us toast and offering top ups of orange juice and coffee :)

All in all, a great little place and I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annarella1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

this is my third stay at Tudor House.Clean as expected and great service and breakfast. Owner helped me with my luggage and assisted with tourist information

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsr28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White House
The White House
#6 of 75 in Canterbury
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Millers Arms
The Millers Arms
#4 of 75 in Canterbury
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Lodge
Greyfriars Lodge
#66 of 75 in Canterbury
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House

Property: Tudor House
Address: 6 Best Lane, Canterbury CT1 2JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Tudor House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing