We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harriet House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harriet House B&B
Ranked #3 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holstebro, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Visiting Harriet House is like visiting your favorite aunt. It is cosy and friendly, extremely clean and neat, breakfast is delicious and both children and adults feel welcome and cared for.
Harriet House is perfect for a visit to Canterbury which in my opinion is one of the most beautiful and interesting English cities with a true villagecharm to it. Definately not our last time in Canterbury and Harriet House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bettina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We would love to see you again in the future. Thank you for your kind review. We offer different room types from single, double and twin ensuite rooms to our family suite of two rooms. You can book all our rooms at our own website where you will find our very best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    86
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
189
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
world traveller
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A very friendly B&B close to the centre of Canterbury. My room was small but everything was there and worked well. There is off street parking for each room, and you are given keys for 24 hour access. Breakfast times are limited 0800 to 0900, but was served on time with minimal waiting. Some business trip customers may find this limiting, but I was able to be flexible, so it was OK, and seemed to suit the holiday makers well.
Be aware that there are stairs to the majority of rooms, and that a car could easily obstruct the access from the parking area, to a wheel chair user. Front access is via stairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Grumpy_hippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
It was lovely to meet you. For early starters we can provide a light breakfast tray delivered to your room the evening before. We are always happy to be a little flexible with our breakfast starting times when required. Regarding access to the house, as the house is old it was not designed for wheelchair access. However, our ground floor room is suitable for guests with limited walking mobility. Access via our rear private car park offers the least steps into the house. We are glad that you felt that you had good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our second visit to Harriet House did not disappoint- such a friendly welcome and comfortable , convenient and extremely clean place to stay. Close to everything that makes Canterbury such an attractive place to visit.We thoroughly enjoyed the home cooking and ambience of such a professional outfit and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
It is always lovely when previous guests return again. Thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in Canterbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very clean and comfortable. nice breakfast and plenty of parking. 10am check out might be a little early but on this occasion wasnt a problem and we were offered to leave the car in the parking area if we wanted to go into town on the last day. Although the walk into town was a little too much for my 80 year old dad, it was otherwise a 15 minute walk. I would recommend Harriet House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Harriet House for your stay. Its a lovely short walk into the centre along the river. We also provide a free phone taxi number in our reception payphone for prompt pick ups into town if the weather is wet (you can grab one of our umbrellas in the hall in this case).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for three nights, and the evening we arrived, we were unintentionally late. However, when we called our hosts, they were most helpful in directing us to Harriet House and had no problem waiting for us to arrive even though it was getting very late.Our room was very clean and comfortable and breakfasts were great and well presented. We enjoyed the walk into town and appreciated on site parking. It was good to see our host in the morning during breakfast for a little chat and some info on sightseeing/the area. We enjoyed the chocolate left on our pillows too!Thank-you Terry and Chris, we thoroughly enjoyed our few days in Canterbury!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
On arrival we are always happy to help with advice on getting about the city. We provide free maps of Canterbury and have placed information folders in our rooms to help with eating out etc. There are also regularly updated leaflets provided in our reception for last minute ideas on days out in the City and surrounding coast and countryside. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Harriet House offers a quiet retreat without the industrial feel of a hotel. The rooms are comfortable and fresh. Simple, effective decorating makes it feel modern and cozy at the same time. The location is excellent for accessing attractions like Canterbury Cathedral and the shopping district, as well as the Canterbury West train station. Chris and Terry made us feel very welcome and were always friendly and attentive. The Kingsmead Field park across the road (over the marked pedestrian crossing and enter around the corner) was perfect for exploring and letting the children run off some energy. Overall a fantastic stay. I highly recommend Harriet House to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights. We had two rooms very clean bed and breakfast with high standards.
Terry and chris are excellent hosts. Great choice for breakfast .
Nice walk into the town. Parking space for your car. Would recommend this anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Graduation dates are always extremely busy in Canterbury. Book early on our own website where we offer the very best rates guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harriet House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harriet House B&B

Property: Harriet House B&B
Address: Market Way, Canterbury CT2 7JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harriet House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 10-minute walk along the River Stour from the very heart of beautiful, historic Canterbury, this well-established 4-star Silver award winning bed and breakfast offers comfortable en suite rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Harriet House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing