We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Small Room”
Review of Harriet House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harriet House B&B
Ranked #3 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Owners were very nice and helped us find our way around Canterbury. The B&B is only a ten minute walk from the Cathedral and the town's High Street, which has plenty of shopping, pubs, and eateries. The room was clean, but very small, as was the bathroom. It was fine for us for our one night stay. The breakfast was good and served promptly when we showed up at the time we requested the night before. Overall, good value if you don't need much space.

Room Tip: Only recommendation is to perhaps ask for a larger room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueMax01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

To some overseas visitors like yourselves our rooms may be a little smaller than you are used to back home. In fact our rooms are around a standard size for a B&B in England, especially in a city. Our house is 100 years old and was built as a family home. A chain style hotel may be more suitable if you are looking for greater dimensions. We certainly would not agree that they are 'small'. We would though recommend a stay with us if you are looking for modern comfortable rooms and a freshly prepared delicious breakfast served with a smile to start your day along with free wifi and free on site parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 378 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at Harriet House in June 2013. The owners are helpful and friendly. Lovely breakfast, you choose what you want the night before, and what time you want it (9am latest) and it's cooked ready for when you come downstairs, which is a nice touch (and toasted home made bread). Clean and up-to-date comfy room. 10 minute walk into town, very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank softpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

We are very proud of our English breakfasts using local free range eggs and sausages, bacon from an award winning butcher. We also recently introduced smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and home made sweet pancakes to our summer menu along with our home made bread and preserves (English rhubarb and apricot jam was made just today). We would love to see you again if you return to Canterbury in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this charming B&B for two nights. We arrived earlier than we expected. The check in time stated 3pm, we arrived at 12pm. The very safe and private carpark was available for us to use straight away. When we returned later we were met by the lovely Terry. He introduced himself and without further hesitation he showed us to our room. What a great room it was too. Just perfect for a couple. It was clean and very light. The en-suite bathroom was just perfect. We were supplied with all of the essential items, shower gel, shampoo etc. In the room we had tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge stocked with bottled water, cans of pop and chocolate (we resisted the chocolate). We changed and walked the easy 10 minutes along the river into Canterbury. The next morning we had breakfast in the cosy dining room. I have to compliment them on one of the finest breakfasts I have had in a B&B for a very long time. It was really first class. We would highly recommend this stunning Guest House to anyone travelling around Kent.

Room Tip: The ground floor bedroom was fabulous for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anbothanbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

To get great comments like this is very rewarding as we put so much effort into our business, always looking at new ways to improve our guests experience. Thank you and we would love to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Harriet House is a cosy B&B in walking distance (10 minutes) to the center of Canterbury. It has its own off street parking, which is a big plus.
Your hosts make you feel welcome from the start.
The rooms are clean and comfy.
The breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kimmekepunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your nice review. Our car park offers one space for each room at Harriet House. Most guests wish to park on arrival and then walk into Canterbury on foot as it is only a ten minute riverside walk away. If arriving by train then Canterbury West is around a seven minute walk from us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your trip. If you ever plan to visit again in the future please note that our own website offers our best prices guaranteed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This Guest House ticks all the boxes: Convenient online reservation system, cheery welcome, comfortable well-equipped room, good WiFi connection, excellent breakfast. And a great central location, close to newsagent, Sainsbury's and city centre. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank WKL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

We would love to see you again on your next visit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice confortable place, very clean, warm with attention to details for good products from the organic tea bags to the nice body gel.

In the morning, home made strawberry jam, good bread, and nice home made pancakes.

Very welcoming host as well. Will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florence m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Future guests find this very helpful. W are glad that you had a nice stay and it was lovely to meet you. We just added our home made pancakes to our breakfast menu for the summer along with smoked salmon as an alternative to our English cooked breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night (2/5) to attend daughter's PhD graduation ceremony in Canterbury Cathedral the following day. (daughter also stayed in the single room). Met by Chris and given good introduction; ordered breakfast for the following morning and went out for Riverside walk into Canterbury which takes about 15 mins. B and B is well situated and is clean and comfortable. Breakfast was substantial and we were able to negotiate leaving our cars in the b and b car park until 3. We enjoyed meals at Ye Olde Beverlie and The Goodshed, both within ten minutes walk. We were blessed with good weather. There was a helpful information folder in the room and a lot of leaflets covering local attractions in a display rack downstairs. We chose to pay by cash rather than pay surcharge applied to card transactions. If in Canterbury again would re-visit.

Room Tip: We didnt pick up any traffic noise; we had rooms 2 and 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are well located just a 10 minute or so stroll away from the city centre along the river, most guests with cars park in our private car park then walk to the many attractions, shopping and eateries etc that the city offers.

Graduation dates are always busy here and its always a good idea to book ahead on our website where we guarantee our very best rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,180 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
741 reviews
2.6 mi away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#2 of 74 in Canterbury
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harriet House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harriet House B&B

Address: Market Way, Canterbury CT2 7JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: $104 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harriet House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 10-minute walk along the River Stour from the very heart of beautiful, historic Canterbury, this well-established 4-star Silver award winning bed and breakfast offers comfortable en suite rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Harriet House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing