We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy b&b”
Review of Harriet House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harriet House B&B
Ranked #3 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cosy b&b”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Harriet House is a cosy B&B in walking distance (10 minutes) to the center of Canterbury. It has its own off street parking, which is a big plus.
Your hosts make you feel welcome from the start.
The rooms are clean and comfy.
The breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kimmekepunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. Our car park offers one space for each room at Harriet House. Most guests wish to park on arrival and then walk into Canterbury on foot as it is only a ten minute riverside walk away. If arriving by train then Canterbury West is around a seven minute walk from us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your trip. If you ever plan to visit again in the future please note that our own website offers our best prices guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    89
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
194
52
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This Guest House ticks all the boxes: Convenient online reservation system, cheery welcome, comfortable well-equipped room, good WiFi connection, excellent breakfast. And a great central location, close to newsagent, Sainsbury's and city centre. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank WKL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We would love to see you again on your next visit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice confortable place, very clean, warm with attention to details for good products from the organic tea bags to the nice body gel.

In the morning, home made strawberry jam, good bread, and nice home made pancakes.

Very welcoming host as well. Will certainly come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florence m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Future guests find this very helpful. W are glad that you had a nice stay and it was lovely to meet you. We just added our home made pancakes to our breakfast menu for the summer along with smoked salmon as an alternative to our English cooked breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night (2/5) to attend daughter's PhD graduation ceremony in Canterbury Cathedral the following day. (daughter also stayed in the single room). Met by Chris and given good introduction; ordered breakfast for the following morning and went out for Riverside walk into Canterbury which takes about 15 mins. B and B is well situated and is clean and comfortable. Breakfast was substantial and we were able to negotiate leaving our cars in the b and b car park until 3. We enjoyed meals at Ye Olde Beverlie and The Goodshed, both within ten minutes walk. We were blessed with good weather. There was a helpful information folder in the room and a lot of leaflets covering local attractions in a display rack downstairs. We chose to pay by cash rather than pay surcharge applied to card transactions. If in Canterbury again would re-visit.

Room Tip: We didnt pick up any traffic noise; we had rooms 2 and 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are well located just a 10 minute or so stroll away from the city centre along the river, most guests with cars park in our private car park then walk to the many attractions, shopping and eateries etc that the city offers.

Graduation dates are always busy here and its always a good idea to book ahead on our website where we guarantee our very best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great location, spotless and overall highly recommended. Very helpful hosts, a real home from home. We would definitely return when next visiting Canterbury as one night was not long enough to see everything this town has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
How lovely to get a great review like yours. We would love to see you back in Canterbury. A short break of 2 nights or more would give visitors a good flavour of what Canterbury has to offer. We put comfort and cleanliness high up on our list at Harriet House and are glad that you noticed. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Harriet House. Lovely welcome by Chris and very helpful with our enquiries about where to eat in Canterbury. The rooms were well equipped with everything you would want and, living in Europe, the tea/coffee making facilities were a refreshing bonus! Breakfast was lovely and accompanied by very welcoming staff. I will definitely be recommending to friends and will stay again on my next 'shopping trip' to Canterbury.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving a lovely review. We love shopping in Canterbury too as the centre has lots of independent shops along with all the major retailers and it is not spread out too far. We would love to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Harriet House for 3 nights and we were made to feel very welcome from the start. The room and bathroom were perfectly clean and everything was provided to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was great. The location is fantastic, for access into Canterbury as it is a 10 minute pleasant walk along the river. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffk757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
1.2 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,914 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Yorke Lodge Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 75 in Canterbury
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harriet House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harriet House B&B

Property: Harriet House B&B
Address: Market Way, Canterbury CT2 7JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harriet House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 10-minute walk along the River Stour from the very heart of beautiful, historic Canterbury, this well-established 4-star Silver award winning bed and breakfast offers comfortable en suite rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Harriet House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing