We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, spotless and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harriet House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harriet House B&B
Ranked #3 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spotless and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Harriet House by train - from the station it was only a 10 minute walk from Harriet House. It was very easy to find and has a pretty front garden. The door was opened by a beaming Terry- our host for the weekend who made us feel very welcome. He was a gentleman and carried my suitcase to our lovely room which we had booked for 3 nights. Terry was informative and gave us some local information and left us to settle in. The location is great for the city centre, only 10 minutes walk along the river. There are plenty of local pubs within close proximity who all serve good food.

After a long walk out it was great to get back to our cosy and very warm room. Terry left us a menu choice on our bed along with some chocolates every night which was a lovely touch,so you could pick what you would like cooking for breakfast. Breakfast was delicious with fresh pastries and bread, homemade jam and cheese with full english and as much toast as you would like.

The whole house is very tastefully decorated (I was quite jealous!) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - we would recommend Harriet House to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angieandjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It was lovely to meet you. We work really hard keeping our house clean. We also love travelling too and base our service on what we would expect when staying in a B&B. Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    86
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
189
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stay here every year and as always it was excellent!!! Modern inside with a country feel outside. Made to feel very welcome as you arrive, rooms warm & inviting with the beds comfy. Cooked breakfast is a must with homemade bread and local farm produce, continental available too with a great variety on display. 10 mins into centre either by main road or a scenic river walk. So many shops, pubs & restaurants to visit and not forgetting the Cathedral.........Beautiful!!!!!! We hope to return for many yrs in the future

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaubeau1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It is always nice to see our guests return every year. It speaks volumes and it is always a pleasure. We have invested so much into the house and are so glad that it seems to be all worth it. Hope to see you next year, remember we offer the best online prices by booking online at our website direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Perfect location for a city break in Canterbury, only a short walk into town for facilities there. The local pub (Ye Olde Beverlie) also a short stroll and very good. Terry and Chris excellent hosts and keep the place fresh and clean, the breakfast was also very good. Would definitely come back again next time we are visiting the city.

Room Tip: Morning sun at the front, but on the road, so occasionally a little noisy from staggering students.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritedAwayAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We would love to see you again and we are very happy that enjoyed your stay at Harriet House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Excellent b and b, very clean, beautifully decorated, owners very welcoming and helpful. Own key means you are free to come and go as you please. Location was excellent, 10 minute walk along the river to the town, made an very good base for a quiet weekend away. Breakfast was excellent, would recommend wholeheartedly and be very happy to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We have redecorated the entire house recently. It certainly is great that you appreciated our hard work. We would love to see you if you return to Canterbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viersen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

A very comfortable B&B, conviniently situated with just a short walk along the river into town centre. Stayed for three nights. Room was spotlessly clean. Lovely soft white towels. Breakfast was first class. The owner very friendly and helpful. Will come again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It helps to paint a true picture of what potential guests can expect if they choose to book with us. It would be lovely to see you again soon in Canterbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We wanted somewhere different to go Christmas shopping and thought Canterbury would be a nice change, a good selection of shops plus the town was decorated which added to the experience. When we arrived at Harriet House we were greeted by the owners who were very friendly and helpful. Cooked breakafst is excellent. Great location to walk into Canterbury via the Riverside walk.Will be returning in May for sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Christmas shopping in Canterbury is easy and fun as there are so many nice eateries in the city to ease the stress of it all. Hope to see you in May when it will hopefully be a little warmer!! Glad you loved our Kentish breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights this fall and Harriet House was a perfect stay. The owner is really friendly. Breakfast was awesome. The room was cozy. The bed was super comfortable. The location was great, too. There's a nice walk into town along the river. There's a big grocery store nearby. And I highly recommend the market on the way to the train station for lunch. Staying here was everything I'd hope for from a B&B

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
So glad that you slept well on our new beds and enjoyed our breakfast so much. Thank you for your review, it is most important to us and our potential guests looking to come to the beautiful City of Canterbury for a relaxing break (or not so relaxing maybe if they are here on business). You know where we are if you ever plan to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harriet House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harriet House B&B

Property: Harriet House B&B
Address: Market Way, Canterbury CT2 7JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harriet House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 10-minute walk along the River Stour from the very heart of beautiful, historic Canterbury, this well-established 4-star Silver award winning bed and breakfast offers comfortable en suite rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Harriet House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing