We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University of Kent - Keynes College
rosario
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great choice!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My room was small but it was equipped with everything I needed. Excellent use of space - shelves, a desk by a window facing the beautiful campus, a wardrobe, the necessary lights...
Apart from free wifi everywhere, you also have access to computers for free in computer rooms, public telephones in the building, laundry, kitchen, supermarket, everything you need - even a cinema. Very good breakfast in a lovely place. Great location, up the hill overviewing the Cathedral and surrounded by beautiful parks and forests. A bus leaves you right in the city centre in case you don´t feel like walking. Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 300maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
16
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked a double room for two nights - Fri and Sat night, about a month before our arrival. Got late to the college had difficulty finding reception. Receptionist was friendly enough but the maps were terrible - wehad difficulty finding the building which had our room. Room was clean with tea/coffee making facilities in room. Not enough pillows (three pillows not four) and coffee packets enough for three servings not four. The shower was clean and good water flow.

Major downside: It was a rainy night and we woke up to a leaking window - flooded the windowsill and items on the desk! We did mention this in the morning when we left.

The restaurant - Dolche Vita on campus where we got out breakfasts was ok. Buffet style with cold and warm. The first morning - Saturday, was quiet and efficient. Sunday morning, the restaurant was crowded and they ran out of coffee, o juice, serviettes etc. Long queues for hot breakfast etc...oh dear...so I kept reminding myself this is a university campus not a hotel...and the prices were reasonable. Nevertheless, I think next time I'll look somewhere else..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the room, super clean and felt brand new, security great. Lots of parking, good regular bus service to Canterbury and Whitstable so good despite not being in town it's OK. If you want somewhere to lay your head at a reasonable price it’s a really good choice. Downsides, 10am check-out is mean and breakfast was disorganised and I found myself scratching around for food that was erratically put out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giant56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We found the accommodation good value. The room was clean and spacious & the bed comfortable. It was a nice touch that they left packs of toiletries with the towels. Bathroom small but functional. We will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingteacher175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were at a conference in Keynes college and elected to stay at the campus accommodation. Not something we usually do but in this case we were pleased we did.
The accommodation was very good. Clean with all the required facilities.
The bathroom seemed to be like a pod that had been placed in the room. It was spacious practical, modern and clean.
Breakfast was in a large canteen style area and was quite substantial.
All the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Bus 4E takes you up and down into the town and goes past every 15 minutes at the longest and about 5 minutes other times.
The only issue we found was that there was not a secure place to leave bags on check out day but at the price we paid per room there is really no reason to complain.
As a side note, there is nowhere in Canterbury to leave bags...at all, not even the railway station according to the information centre.
We also did the canal tour with the young guys in Canterbury and enjoyed it immensely. The guys tell a good tale and do it very well.
My rating of this hotel as excellent is due to its value for money, this outweighs all other features and is rated within its hotel grading only

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viv f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
713 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
2.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
University Of Kent - Turing College
0.1 mi away
University of Kent - Becket Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Kent - Keynes College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Kent - Keynes College

Property: University of Kent - Keynes College
Address: University Road | University of Kent, Canterbury CT2 7FH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University of Kent - Keynes College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by 450 acres of parkland with a labyrinth and nature trails, this 4 star guest accommodation offers en-suite single and double rooms with tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi. Towels and complimentary toiletries are provided at Keynes College, University of Kent. Communal laundry facilities and an iron and ironing board are available. The University campus has a number of cafes, bars and bistros along with a state of the art cinema and theatre. Breakfast is served in the Dolce Vita Restaurant every morning between 07:45 and 09:30. Other leisure facilities include tennis and squash courts, a dance studio and fitness suite. The campus shop is open 7 days a week and sells essential items and Fairtrade products. Canterbury Cathedral, Canterbury Castle and the Roman Museum are 30 minutes' walk from the campus and regular bus services to the coast and city centre run every 10-15 minutes. Canterbury West Train Station is 20 minutes' walk away, with a high-speed service to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your University of Kent - Keynes College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing