We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky little cottage with lovely pub nearby”
other travelers have booked this property
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence River Stour close by the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
42 reviews
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence
River Stour close by the cottage
Conservatory
Patio Area
Lounge
Inglenook
Conservatory and Formal Dining Table
Farmhouse Kitchen - Dining Area
Farmhouse Kitchen - Storage
Farmhouse Kitchen - Range
Lounge
Staircase
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi in Main Bathroom [Ground Floor]
Downstairs shower room
If only the trains stopped here...!
Cottage makes a great winter retreat
River in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Tina G
Westerham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky little cottage with lovely pub nearby”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We arrived early after getting lost 3 times as the property is quite remote. The helpful owner and pub staff allowed us to check in early. The driveway to enter the cottage is narrow , on a bend after a hump bridge and took a few attempts even with a micra to get in and down the steep incline ,however we knew this when we booked the place. The cottage is very interesting building however for us at night time we felt a bit too cut off, this is just our personal feeling. Unfortunately due to family reasons our stay was cut short , however we did have a meal in the pub nearby which was first class and once your in the pub you don't feel as isolated as first impression. If your looking for a get away from it all break and don't mind a remote location it's a nice place to stay but for us a car was imperative as the nearest village it was not advisable to walk along the main road.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“PERFECT, HOME FROM HOME.”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Absolutely perfect, a real gem and so peaceful, the pictures dont do justice, so much better,
Spent Christmas here, perfect

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Many thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again, Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nigel H
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a peaceful break away from it all”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, myself and our Welsh Terrier stayed at the property for 3 nights from Sunday 23rd. October. We picked up the keys from the Dog and Duck pub just across the road without any dramas and made our way back to the cottage. The entrance to the driveway is interesting to say the least and certainly not for the faint-hearted as it is located right on the brow of the adjacent bridge and needs to be approached from the opposite side of the road, due to the sharpness of the bend down the drive. You can, however, park in the pub car park if you wish as long as you notify them.
The cottage dates back to the early 17th. century and is lovely. The entrance hall leads to a wc/shower room and a master bathroom and the kitchen. Through the kitchen an you're into a large living room complete with open fire (for which there are logs outside in the garden). Off the living room is the conservatory and a staircase leading to the two bedrooms, one of which is en-suite.
The property is located literally on the riverbank and, as it doesn't have a secure, gated garden is not suitable for young children.
Being a city dweller we loved the wildlife in the area and saw rabbits, a lovely green woodpecker in the garden, a fisherman catching a 7lb pike right in front of the cottage and a mink on the opposite river bank.
The cottage has everything you could wish for in terms of equipment. In the main bathroom ther is a bath which is also a jacuzzi and a steam room. Well worth a try!
We took advantage of the walks in the area and loved the trek around Stourmouth.
The pub opposite can be accessed by going under the bridge and through the garden, so no need to venture out on to the road in the dark, but be sure to bring a torch!
All in all we had a fabulous three days staying here, helped in no short measure by the beautiful weather we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the walks from the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Many thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again, Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle1...
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Relaxing Weekend”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Booked this cottage for a joint friends 40th weekend. The cottage itself is steeped in history and has been standing since the 1600's. It is beautifully situated by the river and has plenty of room, including 3 bathrooms (one being a small en suite and 1 with a Jacuzzi!).

The kitchen is huge with a lovely dual range oven and traditional wooden table and chairs to relax with friends and chat while cooking. Beds are double & king (soft mattress & low), however comfortable.

Everything is there that you need to enjoy and relaxing stay, including logs for the fire, candles, and CDs/DVDs. Lovely conservatory with a futon for the extra guest if needed. Quaint little garden to sit in and enjoy the surroundings. Books/Games to board games available too. There is a pub directly across the road for a night out if you like Bingo or other entertainment which made be laid on throughout the year and the staff are extremely friendly.

Steep stairs to the bedrooms, and steep slope down to the cottage - this didn't cause issues for us, but may for some.

Canterbury City Centre 30 minutes away so very convenient.

I am looking forward to booking this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very Cosy and Homely
Liked least: mattress bit too soft for me
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Many thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again, Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A tranquil, comfortable get-away”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Wonderful riverside location, very peaceful and away from the hubbub of everyday life. The cottage is delightful and very comfortable and we felt at home immediately. Plenty of places to visit locally, from beach to countryside and many pubs to eat at if you can't be bothered to cook in the spacious and extremely well equipped kitchen. Do however be bothered to make a log fire and curl up with books and a glass of wine.

We hope to return very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness of cottage
Liked least: There's no cat!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Many thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again, Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely weekend - would recommend”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

beautiful cottage with lots of thoughtful touches. quiet scenic location but with easy access to Ramsgate, Broadstairs and Canterbury. Pub is very close by which is friendly and does nice food.

Bring a torch to get to and from pub in the dark

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2015
Hi: We have replaced the torch which was there - honest Guv..!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing