We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get in before everyone hears about it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salt - CLOSED

Salt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local/seasonal/affordable
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get in before everyone hears about it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I left it late to try and book a table on Saturday night. The manager was incredibly helpful in getting 6 of us in. The food is wonderful as was the wine. Unsure what to order the staff helped us make a great selection and we didn't end up with far more than we could eat as often happens with Tapas type dishes. The ingredients are local. It's a great atmosphere. I'd try it before everyone hears about this place and you can't get a table!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    102
    20
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“English tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely restaurant , relaxed atmosphere and easy going. Popped in for a spot of lunch with the kids and picked from a selection of the tapas style dishes. Everything cooked wonderfully. Restaurant clean and tidy and was seated immediately, high chair for young son available. Soft music playing in background.
Have visited in evening with wife when just bar service, again easy going relaxed atmosphere. Great for families and couples.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went for lunch recently and enjoyed a lovely selection of local seasonal plates of food. The foraged sea veg are a great idea and cooked really well. The beetroot and goats cheese flatbread were also lovely. The mixed veg could have had a touch more seasoning but that's a minor point.

A bit disappointed the cider options were limited - a choice of two and only one was Kentish, and I would have liked to see more Kentish ales available, but on the whole this place is definitely a good thing, and we will be back no doubt.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElbieWhitstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked a table for a Sunday evening on our way to Folkestone before the start of our holiday in Europe. What a great meal. We all thoroughly enjoyed every dish we tried, great value, we particularly loved the mackerel and herring. Only wished we lived a little closer. Next time we're off via the Channel Tunnel we will be back. Hope you do well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really great, then...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a pre-theatre booking which was handled superbly, right down to the manager having the bill ready before I asked for it and keeping an eye on the time for us! The food and overall quality of the restaurant, for this type of meal, is better than anywhere I have been in Canterbury for quite a while. I'd definitely eat here if I was going to the Marlowe Theatre again (God forbid), as it's very close by and the service and food are both quick.
Lovely atmosphere, great service, super food and, on the whole, very reasonably priced. I thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Until the cheeseboard arrived.

If the chef set up a restaurant for mice, they'd all starve to death.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcc251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing