We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh-clean-Great food”
Review of Pitta and Dips Cafe - CLOSED

Pitta and Dips Cafe
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Romantic, Business, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Entertaining clients,Quick lunch
1 review
“Fresh-clean-Great food”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Thought I try this restaurant a bit different to all the chains in Canterbury. Wow was I surprised, My goodness the food was heavenly, the meze was so tasty and a great price too. Will visit even week

Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    13
    0
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Real Taste of Cyprus”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

I have travelled to Cyprus many times over the years and love the food. So discovering Pitta and Dips is Canterbury made it an obvious stopping off point. A small restaurant which has simple Cypriot decor. Has a good selection of traditional Cypriot dishes and kebabs that are cooked over a charcoal fire evoking memories of those slow meals in a beach cafe overlooking the sea. Owned by a Cypriot family the food is first class with excellent portions and all freshly cooked to order. Well worth the visit and will certainly go back again. Also caters to take away.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced canteen food”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having read the reviews we popped in for a pre theatre meal. The food was dumped on the plate an the chef had over done it on the garlic. Loving Greek food we were truly disappointed. Just found it expensive and lacking the love that simple food dictates

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and great food.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food. I had moussaka, my wife had souvlaki, and both were fantastic. Very reasonable price too. Great Little restaurant and the owner couldn't do any more to make you feel welcome. Loved it. Will definitely be going back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Roll me home!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have literally just got back from eating a delicious dinner at the Pitta and Dips Café, and felt we needed to write a review to share our experience.

We turned up starving and ordered the Meat meze to which the owner's reply was 'I hope you're hungry'. We laughed this off thinking we can finish it all...we were sorely mistaken.

The food was lovely, freshly cooked and delicious. Best of all it just kept coming! Service was great, the owner was very polite and helpful. He even packed up our leftovers so we can eat them later.

It may strike you as expensive but it is definitely worth the money as you get such a huge selection. Just don't be fooled, make sure you are really, really hungry before you attempt it!

Only downside we can think of was that we were the only people in there, so although it was nice and quiet it didn't quite have the atmosphere you may expect, but the only way to fix that is if you go and eat there!

Really enjoyed it and would happily go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitta and Dips Cafe also viewed

 
Pett Bottom, Canterbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing