We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage, everything you need, a home from...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Granary

The Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary
Open Plan Living Room  View 1 Open Plan Living Room  View 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Granary
Open Plan Living Room  View 1
Open Plan Living Room  View 2
Open Plan Living Room  View 3
Family Shower Room
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Family Bathroom
The Patio
View from The Old Alms House
Looking towards Wingham over open counrtyside
Wingham Church a short walk away
Wingham
Wingham- the local shopping centre
Canterbury Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Conal M
1 review
“Great cottage, everything you need, a home from home.”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We recently spent a week at The Granary on a break with another couple. Right from the first booking everything ran like clockwork. James, the owner, is a real gent and dealt with our enquiries promptly and efficiently. He provided us with lots of details about location etc prior to our visit and was waiting for us on arrival when he showed us around the property and explained to us how everything worked.
We enjoyed an excellent week there. The cottage is cosy, clean and warm and had everything we needed for our stay. The location is lovely, nice and quiet but only a few miles from Canterbury which you can access by bus should you prefer to leave the car behind. The bus stop is about a 10 minute walk from the cottage.
We toured all over Eastern and Southern Kent and into Sussex on days out. We even had a day over in France as Dover is only about 30 minutes away. Roughly £40 for the car and 4 persons was a bargain not to be missed.
On departure day James came over, had a quick look round and handed back our bond in cash, very good, no waiting for a refund.
We would definitely recommend the property and would be happy to stay there again should we be visiting the area in the future.
Thank you James, was a pleasure to meet you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KevAnne19...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay at The Granary”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Granary is tucked away down a quiet lane in Wingham Well. From our first contact with owner James B, he couldn't have been more helpful. He met us at the property to show us around, then met us again at the end of the stay to return the deposit. The property itself is very nice - rustic from the outside but up to date with all mod cons on the inside. Seeing the rabbits on the lawn each evening we got back became part of the holiday! Everything we needed was provided, and it was a convenient location for Canterbury and much of Kent. We would recommend The Granary to anyone wanting a quiet holiday in Kent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great base for getting around Kent”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at the granary for just over 1 week while taking a short holiday in Kent with the children. It is a great peaceful location which being fairly central means you can get to most places in a short amount of time.

The granary is perfectly adequate for the four of us however it is a bit compact so if you want lots of space you may want to consider other properties.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7Hornets
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely area. We had a peaceful holiday. Good value for the money. Good base for visiting the area & road links.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely House”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent 17 days at The Cranary, it is cosy house in a quiet area with a big garden. There is just enough space for four adults and two children. It is clean. Canterbury and other towns or beaches (e.g. Dover, Sandwich, Broadstairs, Ramsgate, Ashford) are easy to reach by car.
We enjoyed our stay there and can recommend the accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little cottage in a secluded position”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage has a very well equipped kitchen and even contained many little extras such as soap, washing up liquids and cleaning products. A clean property.
It is truly a country retreat,when sitting in the garden which captures the sun all day one can listen to the birds.
Only slight problem which James warns us about was if 5 people tried to shower one after the other the hot water wasn't sufficient. There is a boost switch but the real answer was to spread out getting up times.
The owner James was very helpful and welcoming and I would definitely recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing