We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Nice.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildwood Restaurant

Wildwood Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 361 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Nice.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Dined there last week and we were not impressed or wowed by much at all. This place charges top price for its pasta, but all you get for your top dollar is cheap tasting pasta, we chose it for its proximity to the theatre, and did we regret it. If the food ever matches the levels of excellent service we might be tempted back but you cant make a silk purse etc,etc .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robsons3j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    158
    46
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We luckily managed to get a table on a friday night without booking and so happy they could fit us in. Beautiful setting and attentive staff. Vast menu but we opted for a started of Brie with Garlic and Hazelnuts and a Tomato, Mozarella and Basil Salad with Focaccia and a main of a Boar Burger and the Smoked Haddock Risotto with Poached Egg.

Our entire meal was supurb. full of flavour and simply beautiful. Great presentation. Good value for money.

The Chardonney was delicious (and hard to not have 1 too many)

Busy restaurant with an array of diners. Highly recommend and would return,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PuddingPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We met my university student granddaughter and her boyfriend for dinner after a day of sightseeing in Canterbury. She had pre-booked and although we arrived early, there was no problem with seating us.
Italian-oriented menu with a VERY wide choice of dishes at sensible prices.
Although the restaurant got very busy (and a tad noisy), service was EXCELLENT and friendly.
We all enjoyed our meals.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere is really good and the food is amazing! There's a lot of choice on the menu and I couldn't decide what to get at first. The waitress was extremely nice and helpful and recommended my main dish which was just devine. The food is world class and definitely good value for money. Book beforehand in order to avoid disappointment as it gets quite busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayomide A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant many times and take lots of our friends. After being there last week and had great service we went back today with no reservation asked for a table of six, we were accommodated for very well. Two more friends joined us later and they were welcomed with warmth and hospitality and no request was too much. We realised we were taking up much needed table space we ordered only mains while our late arrivals were finishing the children had there deserts. We were very impressed by the staffs happiness to offer deserts and coffees knowing we were taking precious table space. Thank you and it warms us to always recommend your restaurant in a busy high street.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank zebrasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildwood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wildwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing