We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast I've ever had”

The Refectory Kitchen
Ranked #33 of 364 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best breakfast I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had breakfast here last weekend. It was a chilly Sunday but in the Refectory Kitchen was a burning fire and the best breakfast I've ever had. There is so much choice on the menu, friendly staff and its great value. I'm hoping to go again soon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui_Learoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    50
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great find in Canterbury-- Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I'm so glad we found this restaurant on TripAdvisor before leaving on our trip to Canterbury, as the outside of the restaurant is unassuming, and it's found on a road with many other places to eat. But don't let appearances fool you; the inside is warm and welcoming, and the food is delicious.

The Refectory Kitchen is found on the walk from Canterbury West train station to the historic west gate to the city, so it was a perfect place to stop on a cold, rainy morning. We had a late breakfast/early lunch. My husband had parsnip soup, which was creamy and delicious. My son and I both had the smoked mackerel (smoked fresh by the restaurant), duck egg, and rice dish (came with a curry ketchup). It was so delicious, and it was definitely one of my favorite meals on my 10-day trip to England. We also had the espresso, which was great.

Our waiter was so friendly and helpful, answering every question or request with a smile and "no probs." He was great! The bathroom was also clean, which is important to me in an eating establishment.

We wish we could have tried more of their yummy-sounding foods, including their smoked cheese and lots of great-looking sweets.

We would love to return to Canterbury and the Refectory Kitchen.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SunriseEspresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Best Breakfast ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were introduced to this wonderful little café through our hotel, the ´Arthouse B and B´ as breakfast here was included in our deal. The breakfast menú is extensive and offers much more than your average eatery with a huge range of breakfast options as well as the obligatory english breakfast, which was one of the best I have ever had. The staff were also really friendly and attentive. Could´nt recommend this place more

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosskarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Breakfast Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've lived in Canterbury for over 10 years now and often head into town on a Sunday for some breakfast and shopping so it's safe to say we've eaten everywhere that does one! Never before have I felt the need to write about somewhere but this is the exception. It was an amazing breakfast, reasonably priced, the ingredients were all fresh and the service was fantastic. Hard to see us ever going anywhere else again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P4ulH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Unusual breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went to Canterbury today and looked at trip adviser to decide where would be good for breakfast. We decided to go to this restaurant (useless we saw somewhere we liked better en route -which we didn't ). You walk along the high street throughout the West Gate and a minute further. The environment in the restaurant is very pleasant and the waiter was very attentive. I had scotch pan cakes with bacon and maple syrup and cappachino . It was very taste. I would recommend going there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VioletJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refectory Kitchen also viewed

 
 

Been to The Refectory Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing