We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
Review of Chocolate Cafe

Chocolate Cafe
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Good central location, in the old bit with all the cobbled streets. Had lots of different teas, my mum had one which was a flower which opened up, this was very nice. We both enjoyed a little chocolate each which was a nice little treat. Very nice

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma123527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    113
    51
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Choccy Visit”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by on Valentines day for little treat. The staff were very polite and gave us menus immediately. We sat upstairs on a cold day and the place was very warm, the windows were very steamed up and it was a shame we couldn't see outside.
I highly recommend the melted chocolate drink, packed full of calories I'm sure but oh so delicious. We also had some strawberries and dipping chocolate which were very high quality even in the midst of winter.
Suitable for a chat and catch up but I wouldn't stay for anything larger as the environment doesn't seem suited for a meal. Cannot fault it otherwise!

Helpful?
Thank Brad_McMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Kent's Worst - for Service or The Waiting Game”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We sat upstairs and ordered two coffees and two Lunch Munch wraps from the very simple menu. Coffee arrived rather slowly and was tepid. No sugar. Eventually found sugar sachets in a bowl stuffed into a gloomy corner. We waited again and ONE Lunch Munch eventually appeared. We made it very clear that TWO were required, and waited and waited. My wife then spoke to another waitress to say one meal had been forgotten, who then went to check, but as she went downstairs made a derogatory gesture, then no response anyway. Waited and waited once more. My wife went downstairs and asked "where is the meal? " The waitress looked vague and did not seem to know anything about it, so was told dont bother.

When we went to walk out in disgust, after waiting and waiting yet again for the bill ,what had and had not been received was suddenly crystal clear! When we complained at the till we got blank stares and the comment it was "not their fault". Most restaurants would have apologised, but not this one.

The waiter who took our order did apologise to our face, then went off and sniggered in a corner behind our back with other customers.

What should have been a pleasant little lunch prior to a visit to the theatre totally ruined by shoddy service coupled with downright rudeness. Never again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very reasonable prices for excellent pastries and coffees!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Often used for meeting friends but also meeting clients. Love the Chocolate Cafe, friendly staff, fantastically tasty pastries and coffee. All at really reasonable prices! Well worth checking out if you're in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canterburyresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate Strawberries are a Must!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little find.....Helpful and polite staff with cute decor (teapot light shade). A friend and I had delicious hot chocolates and I would certainly recommend the chocolate dipped strawberries, perfect for a small snack/dessert. Will definitely be returning!

Helpful?
Thank Keeley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Cafe also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing