We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management , No Attention to detail.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bijou Abode - Chaucer House
Ranked #56 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Needs attention to detail.

The concept is excellent, a well positioned town house well furnished and very comfortable albeit that the “Parking” is a bit of an issue but I could live with this.

However the cleanliness and maintenance of the house is well below the standard claimed by a 4 star establishment.

On arrival in our bedroom I found an empty bottle of Prosecco and paper items in the bedside rubbish basket. Having made a cup of coffee we took our drinks into the small anti room adjacent to the Circle room only to find that not one of the three lights available where working.

While attempting to have a shower the centre knob on the controls came away in my hand.

The next morning in the same anti room I spotted a giant cobweb on the Dorma window. The leaflets on the bedroom desk where Entitled “What’s on September to December 2013” and “Philharmonia Orchestra February 2014” neither any use in March 2014.

Breakfast was limited and adequate but not what you would expect for an establishment charging at the top end of the market and again let down by management, our HP sauce bottle was advertising Movember the very well worth while Testicular Cancer appeal run every November and due to a milk jug going missing we ended up with a plastic bottle of milk on the breakfast table not that good when you’re paying £148.00 per couple per night.

We may go back but I’ll follow the reviews to see if things have improved.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin B, Owner at Bijou Abode - Chaucer House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

We are really sorry to here that your experience was not up to standard. We pride ourselves on attention to detail and in that respect we have just had our AA audit and even won an award!
We provide the staff with a detailed checklist that, if followed, ensures that a very high standard is maintained and that any unserviceability, however small such as bulbs etc., are reported the same day.
It appears in your case that this obviously has not happened and we will be correcting the problem immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we may return to our high standards for which our Guest House has won awards two years running.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 46 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Found this hotel on booking.com but wish I had read TA first as all comments below are accurate about not being manned etc - room was lovely but on reflection and looking at other hotels really overpriced for what it is. On arrival in Canterbury at 1pm couldn't check in until 2pm so had to pay 2 hours in another car park then drive to the hotel pick up the voucher and find the right car park so ended up paying £9.30 not £6 all together. All a bit of a faff really. Small things annoying in the room as everything seemed to be locked down such as the bathroom floor heating so you couldn't change it. Roll top bath was nice and bed was lovely and comfortable and good location opp the theatre and off the main street. The cooked breakfast was nice with nice quality juices but the cereals all basic ones. Even though we were at the front didn't hear any noise. Gojng back to canterbury soon and going to pay £85 pn with free parking. The very posh looking Abode currently has rooms for £95 with parking.

Room Tip: there's only 2 rooms we had the first floor one with roll top bath - nice big room with comfy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halycondays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin B, Owner at Bijou Abode - Chaucer House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

I am afraid this is really a case of not reading the terms and conditions before booking! We have a published check in time of 3pm and as this guest was tying to check in at 1pm we managed an early 2pm check in and are given a bad review!
Price point is in line with other 4 star accomodation on the given day and fuctuates up and down as does the competition. We are right at the top of rankings on Booking.com and have just been given an award!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a birthday celebration.
Although there was no one there to meet us (which we were fully informed of before we arrived) we received an email and text with the door code. Upon arrival an afternoon tea tray and fresh coffee was waiting for us, as well as a personalised information sheet by the front door.
The b&b is within walking distance to near enough everything in Canterbury and a 24 hour parking permit can be purchased from the owners, which was waiting for us upon arrival, for £6.
Breakfast is pre ordered the night before on a form provided, which you can either leave in the kitchen or outside your bedroom door, we opted to have breakfast in our room which arrived bang on time and was clearly freshly cooked.
The room itself was perfect, with an old fashioned bath for added luxury and a full wet room with floor heating. Towels, shower gel, shampoo, hand wash and hand cream are all provided in the bathroom. There's tea and coffee facilities along with free sat on the tv. The bed, duvet and pillows were all so comfortable and u think it's the best sleep we've had away from home.
We would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a little luxury in a central location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniellafun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin B, Owner at Bijou Abode - Chaucer House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Canterbury is not big like Brighton so most hotels of any price also have a "great location". I feel it is very overpriced and I wish I had booked Abode on the main high street for proper standards. This has no staff, so you automate your checkin with an electronic key entry - which is fine and private. We arrived at 5.30pm to a cold room, which took a long time to get warm in December (the owner has said he will look into this) - as I am in no way elderly but we found the bathroom freezing. Its huge with "under-floor" heating that never made us feel like staying in there (also being looked into) - so do email them to check before you book unless you like it cool. Plus = Big bed, good bedding, breakfast was nice., when it happens, some plug points work. It was exceedingly quiet due to the glazing.

Room Tip: upper circle is top floor, so more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady_luciana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin B, Owner at Bijou Abode - Chaucer House, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We just dont know what to say about this. Every other guest all week has not had a problem with the temperature and there is no fault. We do supply an additional oil fire radiator in the wardrobe for emergency and all the power outlets work.! Sorry there was no refund as requested but the poduct was delivered as advertised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights.We agree with the previous reviewer who complained about parking.We couldn't find any 24 hour parking so we settled for the nearest car park (north of the Marlowe Theatre)at £1.10 an hour it was quite expensive(you don't pay between 9pm and 7am)but I still had to rush out at the crack of dawn to put more money in the meter to tide us over breakfast.We realised later that whatever you put in is carried over to the next morning.We tried using the park and ride but it was closed Sundays (ho hum) The room,bed and bathroom were wonderful,very clean and spacious.Breakfast was OK but the bacon was grey rather than a healthy pink.Maybe the same frying pan and fat that had been used to fry the sausages as well as the bacon.Finding ourselves sitting side by side facing a wall (nice picture) was a first.It would have been much better facing my wife.The little lounge upstairs was a lovely little suntrap but had cobwebs in the window and an old pillow case lying on one of the chairs.Could do with a bit of TLC for the money we spent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugsy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin B, Owner at Bijou Abode - Chaucer House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great area, if your a light sleeper then noises from outside by keep you up for a while (eg, people coming out of the marlow'
Luckily we was the Only ones booked so we had the place to ourselves. The place itself is large, comfy, well designed. The bathroom was amazing (loved the bath) the bed was huge and so comfy. Staff was good in the morning, couldn't hear them cleaning up and was friendly, breakfast was good and a big enough amount. Maybe a welcome booklet telling you a little more detail as to where bits our (at the house and Canterbury itself) will be sure to come back again such a lovely experience and time, we was gutted we only booked 1 night it was to nice to leave.

Room Tip: There's only 2 rooms which are the same but if you don't want to have to walk 2 sets of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahmya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Needed a central place in Canterbury for 4 nights and this definitely hit the mark. Central and quiet. Room was excellent, huge comfortable bed, fab bathroom. Breakfast was fresh and cooked to order. With a great lounge area and use of kitchen if needed it really felt like a home from home. As it was a business trip the wi-fi was also very useful. Central Canterbury is pedestrianised so there is a lack of parking but as this is only a 10 minute walk to the railway station, you can leave the car at home!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieD610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#9 of 16 in Canterbury
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Millers Arms
The Millers Arms
#4 of 73 in Canterbury
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bijou Abode - Chaucer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bijou Abode - Chaucer House

Address: 15 The Friars, Canterbury CT1 2AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: $150 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bijou Abode - Chaucer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing