We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Value For Hotel Quality Cottages In...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Foxglove Cottage is doggy friendly!
Fully equipped country kitchen
Lots of fresh local produce to enjoy!
Pretty double bedroom - perfect for a sound night's sleep
Charming twin Bedroom with two comfy 3 foot beds
Foxglove has it's own garden area with picnic table & parasol. You can also borrow our sun loungers!
Hawthorn Farm is set within nearly 4 acres... the gardens are pretty all year round
Meet Sam and Daisy, our resident donkeys!
Swans with their young on a nearby stream
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
denisewil...
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Value For Hotel Quality Cottages In Kent Countryside!”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My daughter and I visited Hawthorn Farm for a short break just to get some quality time and a break away from the hustle and bustle of life! We stayed in Cherry Tree cottage which was beautifully decorated. A perfect blend of modern and tradition with mod cons (my daughter commented on the lights and mirrors which at 14 is very important!). Tina and Steve the owners are so friendly nothing was too much of a problem. We even played table tennis outside with them! And Willow the cat watched! Egyptian cotton bed linen and comfortable beds made it a relaxing stay in a prime location close to so many Kent attractions. Most holiday cottages have the bare minimum but Hawthorn Farm really does give you that blend of hotel quality with home from home comforts as well as a laundry room, games and additional extras such as the breakfast hampers and curry supper for two (which was delicious!!). Thank you. We will be back and certainly recommend to others xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aimeejsaw...
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Easter Break at Hawthorne Farm Cottages in Kent”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Outstanding accommodation, everything we could have wanted, plus more The owners Tina and Steve were fantastic and so friendly. My 9 year and I loved it, as did my dog. Stayed in Foxglove Cottage. Will definitely return. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A VERY COMFORTABLE AND PEACEFULL PLACE YET EASY REACH OF ALL THE SIGHTS”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed for three weeks in a very comfortable, well equipped and dog friendly cottage.

There was a welcome pack on arrival which was much appreciated.

The cottages are surrounded by orchards and it is a very relaxing place to be.

There were numerous and varied places to walk our dog.

The cottages are ideally located as a base to explore the nearby coastline - being within easy reach of Margate, Broadstairs, Ramsgate, Sandwich and Deal. They are also very close to the 'must see' city of Canterbury.

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday and look forward to returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we enjoyed meeting you, and we're pleased to hear that you (and Chico your adorable dog) had a good holiday! We hope to welcome you back to Hawthorn Farm Cottages soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KShiels
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect break from London”
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We booked here last minute for a few days over the February break with our two boys. It was just lovely and chilled, the cottage was pretty, cosy and self contained. We visited the beach and had a wonderful day out at Wingham Wildlife Park, both of which are close by. There are also local farm shops, nice scenery and two resident donkeys which our boys loved feeding every morning ! Steve and Tina the hosts were fantastic and nothing was a problem. I would highly recommend staying here and we will definitely be returning.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! We enjoyed meeting you and your family, and look forward to welcoming you back to Hawthorn Farm again soon...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay F
Hoo Saint Werburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect pet friendly countryside retreat”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay in Foxglove cottage with our dog and parrot. A peaceful location with great walks on the doorstep. Lovely waking up to the dawn chorus and petting the two lovely donkeys. Steve and Tina are the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble and very welcoming. Ideally located for Canterbury, Sandwich and lovely seaside resorts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Foxglove Cottage. It was great to meet you all (including Bailey the dog and Charlie the parrot, who were both gorgeous.) We hope to welcome you back to Hawthorn Farm soon so you can continue your exploration of this part of Kent. All the best, Steve and Tina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahstev...
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely self catering cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

WE stayed with our son who has special needs for 2 nights. The cottage was very clean and had everything we needed. The location is very peaceful and is quite a rural unspoilt location. Very near to Canterbury and also near to Broadstairs, Herne Bay and Margate which all have beaches. WE enjoyed our weekend and enjoyed meeting the donkeys! There was a lovely welcome pack of goodies too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The security deposit is very high and takes a longtime to be returned (Ours hasn't yet)
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
1 review
“Everything we could have hoped for and more!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Steve was the perfect gracious host who was there for us at every turn. The accommodation was very comfortable and perfect in every way. We would not hesitate to return. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review! We enjoyed meeting you and hope you'll return to Hawthorn Farm again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing