We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Canterbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canterbury Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lovely clean hotel with superb friendly staff. The room was very clean with plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits (and more he we ran out). Did not get to use the pool or spa facilities but will remember this for next time. Small walk to the city centre but in a lovely quiet location.

Room Tip: We spent 1 full day/night here. Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much bother. Very clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    99
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
118
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a three night break for our 40th wedding anniversary and felt that we had struck gold with the Canterbury Hotel.
The rooms, while not spacious, had been recently decorated and are very well appointed with tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was very comfortable and HUGE. It must class as one of the widest beds I have ever slept in !
The bathroom was a good size with an extremely good (and powerful) shower above the bath. The bathroom had also been recently upgraded.
Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of food from the menu (I recommend the Continental Breakfast with cheese and ham ). The service is unhurried but this is because everything is cooked to order and therefore very good.
The staff are friendly and cannot do enough to make their guests feel welcome. They have a list of good restaurants in the city centre which is very informative and useful. Well worth asking for at reception
As the hotel is only about a mile from the Cathedral i would recommend it for a weekend visit.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel (above the Spa) are quieter because of the busy main road outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a two night stay in a twin room - the facilities were good with a choice tea in the room and well equipped modern bathroom.
The shower was over the bath but it was a bit low - my head was touching it and I'm only 5'9"! The beds were very comfortable but there was no air conditioning so the room was quite warm.
The service was really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was uninspired and could have been better with more interesting choices. The car park was very small and we had to park on the street one evening. Overall did have a nice stay and felt more than comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs. UK.
Level Contributor
641 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stay in Canterbury fairly regularly and just discovered the Canterbury Hotel. It looks a bit old fashioned from the outside, but the facilities and rooms are very contemporary. I didn't use the pool but it looked great. Car park is a bit compact ! But the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent one night here during a 12 day trip to England and France. I wish we had spent all 12 nights here. The staff was outstanding, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The bed was by far the most comfortable on on our trip. The hotel is small and quaint, but the service is par for a Four Seasons. The price for four adults in two rooms was 200 pounds. Very reasonable. Breakfast that was included was also the best we had on our trip. We will return to England someday and spend more time in Canterbury, and definitely stay at the Canterbury Hotel. It's a short walk to the cathedral and other attractions. The Deep Blue Sea restaurant down the street served a very nice fish and chip meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kern C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Arrived early Friday afternoon with a party of 4. Our room was not quite ready so we went off to explore the Old Cathedral in Canterbury and enjoy the many pubs/cafes along the way..Had a bite to eat at the local Fish and Chips conveniently located just down the street. When we finally returned for our check-in much later in the evening we were enthusiastically greeted by Alex, a wonderful young man who could have not been more gracious and welcoming. Only to find out during our conversation that he had been there all day and returned for a double shift after a last minute sick call by a colleague. I am sure he was well worn out but you would never know it by his big smile and friendly disposition. We found the rooms extremely comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast was pleasant surprise with their offering of cooked to order eggs and all the accompaniments(sausage, bacon, toast etc. If there were any down sides it would be not having a swimsuit to enjoy the lovely pool or the bit of a walk into the old town. We were lucky with the beautiful weather so in the end-the walk was manageable. We would definitely stay there again.. Thank You Alex and staff for a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: The rooms were newly decorated in a pleasing palett and were immaculate! Also enjoyed the free onsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaLee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Only upon returning home did we find out that this hotel is rated number one out of the Canterbury hotels listed on Trip Advisor...and we are not surprised! From the moment we cycled up to the front door one evening to enquire if they had a room for the night we knew we would love it as the two members of staff on duty at reception were so happy and helpful and interested in us as guests. Once they had locked the bikes away in a secure building for us we were shown to our room and told about the nearby restaurants they recommended (complete with map) The room was thoughtfully equipped with robes, ample tea and coffee supplies (and hot chocolate for those fussy folk like me who don't drink tea and coffee) a comprehensive and detailed room info pack, and a very comfy superking bed. The bathroom looked like it had been refurbished in recent times and was spotlessly clean and very contemporary with a lovely rainforest shower over the bath. A good selection of toiletries was provided, including a complimentary toothbrush kit. The towels were large and fluffy, just as they should be! Alas we didn't have the opportunity to experience the pool and spa area but walking past it looked as squeaky clean and well looked after as the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was another pleasant experience with a selection of fresh fruits, yogurts, and freshly baked and still warm pastries. We opted for a full English and that is always the key to the final appraisal as they served up "real" sausages (not the ones that look like some undesirable part of a dog's anatomy!) proper bacon (not the watery stuff which is covered in a white yuk!) poached eggs cooked to perfection, and fresh button mushrooms full of flavour. So 10/10 for an excellent breakfast.
The location of the hotel is handy for the train station and for walking into the town centre.
Staying at The Canterbury Hotel was money well spent!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettynoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Hotel

Property: Canterbury Hotel
Address: 140 Wincheap | Kent, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England (Formerly Thanington Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canterbury Hotel is a short three minute walk to the City walls, approximately seven minutes to the High Street, Canterbury Cathedral and all the main attractions of this beautiful city. Combining Georgian elegance with excellent service, Canterbury Hotel offers a variety of en-suite rooms, maintained to an exceptionally high standard. Facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, a comfortable bar offering an extensive range of spirits, beer, malt whiskies and fine wines. The beautiful courtyard garden provides a relaxing oasis. There is free wifi in all rooms and a secure car park. Breakfast is included in the tariff. Canterbury Hotel, as well as being a short walk to city centre and train station is ideally located for the Channel Tunnel and Port of Dover for those leaving or just entering the country. In addition to a lovely private indoor heated swimming pool there is a fully staffed spa offering a range of massages and facial treatments including anti-ageing and Thalgo treatments, manicures and pedicures, waxing and tinting. Canterbury Hotel has some of the very best facilities anywhere in the city of Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canterbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing