We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous little gem”
Review of Canterbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a fabulous little gem”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here for one night on 11th March. I picked the hotel based on the reviews on this site and I was not disappointed.
My room was a standard room and it was lovely with plenty of space and a proper bathroom - with great little extras - a dental kit; proper bath robes; an ironing board and iron; a room safe. My coat hangers were all wooden and there were plenty of them!

The staff were all very polite and really helpful.


It is only a 15 minute walk in to the heart of Canterbury where there is a huge choice of restaurants.

The only note of caution I would advise is that although there is parking at the hotel, it is not a huge car park so you need to be confident of your parking ability and it really isn't suitable for vans.

However I would happily stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    101
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
124
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

A group of mummies booked a spa evening the service was fantastic the treatments were brilliant. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. We were all very relaxed and can't wait to book again. The range of treatments and the value for money is great. Really recommended for relaxing session of me time

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a perfectly pleasant hotel a short walking distance from Canterbury City Centre. Our room was clean and well presented with a comfortable bed. Overall a fairly decent 3 star hotel, with a few minor details to improve, such as a dead flower arrangement on reception, and coat hangers which fell apart. However, the full English breakfast has to be the worst I have ever tasted, which was a shame. Spotlessly clean throughout with friendly and attentive staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda D, Owner at Canterbury Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you Tony for your review. I'm very glad that in the main, you both enjoyed your stay at Canterbury Hotel. I really don't understand what happened with your breakfast, as we are constantly praised for the quality of our food, and strive to keep the standard high at all times. I can only apologise that, on that day, it was not to your liking. Although if you had told a member of staff that you were unhappy during your breakfast, they would have brought you a replacement immediately.

It was also unfortunate that you happened to be checking out just as I was swapping the older flowers for the new arrangement!

I do hope that in spite of this, you both liked the beautiful roses in your room, which I personally chose for you from our local florist, which I was a bit sad to see that you had not mentioned here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We booked at the last minute via an efficient evening receptionist and stayed here for two nights in February. We thought the hotel was very good value - room was large enough for two on a short stay and included two comfortable armchairs and all amenities such as a bottle of water (many expensive hotels are mean with that) and biscuits and drinks. Breakfast was varied, generous and well-cooked. The staff were efficient and friendly. The hotel is 10 - 15 minutes walk from the cathedral but as the centre of town is pedestrianised, we didn't find this to be a problem. Would definitely stay here again and delighted to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

After a dreadful stay at a previous hotel the night before (the fallstaff which we booked out early) we found this one on the internet and called them to see if they had a room available. The young man who answered the phone was very helpful and found us a room which was the four poster room. We were not disappointed this is a lovely room with a big bathroom very comfortable bed and nice size room, very clean and nice decor. I also had a facial at the spa which was lovely and very reasonably priced. All the staff are very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was good and again the staff very friendly and efficient. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed in this lovely hotel for one night in February with my family and we really enjoyed or stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was very clean, with a nice décor, and the beds were comfortable. The hotel has a good swimming pool, which is also very clean, and a sauna. It was quite nice to relax in the sauna after sightseeing in Canterbury all day. Breakfast is included in the price, and there was a good selection of food. The hotel is not far from the city centre, so we left the car parked in the hotel, while we went sightseeing, as parking is not free in Canterbury's city centre. The hotel has a spa, where my husband had a relaxing back massage. I definitely recommend this hotel, and I will stay there gain when I go back to Canterbury.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26Middlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I booked this on spec as a valentines surprise and we weren't dissapointed.My wife and I were made to feel at home as the hotel is small but big enough to pander to our various requests.It doesn't have a restaurant but you get breakfast and there are a range of eateries and pubs nearby.There is also a small bar with an above average selection of single malts plus a spa and swimming pool.Great value for money.There are a few creaks and noises but this adds the charm of this old georgian building.We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dikkypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Hotel

Property: Canterbury Hotel
Address: 140 Wincheap | Kent, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England (Formerly Thanington Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canterbury Hotel is a short three minute walk to the City walls, approximately seven minutes to the High Street, Canterbury Cathedral and all the main attractions of this beautiful city. Combining Georgian elegance with excellent service, Canterbury Hotel offers a variety of en-suite rooms, maintained to an exceptionally high standard. Facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, a comfortable bar offering an extensive range of spirits, beer, malt whiskies and fine wines. The beautiful courtyard garden provides a relaxing oasis. There is free wifi in all rooms and a secure car park. Breakfast is included in the tariff. Canterbury Hotel, as well as being a short walk to city centre and train station is ideally located for the Channel Tunnel and Port of Dover for those leaving or just entering the country. In addition to a lovely private indoor heated swimming pool there is a fully staffed spa offering a range of massages and facial treatments including anti-ageing and Thalgo treatments, manicures and pedicures, waxing and tinting. Canterbury Hotel has some of the very best facilities anywhere in the city of Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Canterbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing