We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for exploring Canterbury”
Review of Canterbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel was just right for our one night stopover; it was only a short walk to the centre of Canterbury. The room was very acceptable and the staff friendly. The breakfast was good with lots of choice. Although there are cheaper options, we would choose to stay here when next we are in the Canterbury area.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 290 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I spent eight nights in this bed & breakfast hotel while exploring the sights of East Kent. The hotel is 10 to 15 minutes’ walk (or a four-minute bus ride) from the city centre. The hotel’s rooms have been refurbished since it came under new ownership in September 2012, so you can ignore the few “poor” and “terrible” reviews from 2012 and earlier. We found the young staff to be friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfast was excellent, and my daily vegetarian cooked meal included veggie sausages even though they were not listed on the menu. The car park is secure at night but unfortunately cannot always accommodate every visitor’s car. However, there is free street parking in the road behind the hotel if necessary.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrAndrewHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just stayed here with my husband and Mother-in-Law, very nice, clean and comfortable, staff were very friendly and hard working, Bar well stocked and breakfast nice. The pool was lovely and it was a lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon reading on the loungers after a busy working week.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility make sure you ask for a ground floor room, the staff were only too happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrystella64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights. its well situated...just a 13 min lever stroll into the centre. we stayed in the annexe..rooms 2 and 4.....there were 3 of us. both rooms were very clean and well appointed.they are comfortable...and well maintained. the staff were lovely too.
the breakfast was great...nice choice and served well. the garden is lovely too...nice place to sit.
there are 2 negatives however. firstly the shower was poor....linked to taps...so not easy to control...and a poor flow.
secondly you can hear people in the rooms around you...never a good thing. we were lucky that everyone went to bed q early around us...so was quiet by 11pm...but u can hear the tvs in the next room also

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanaspinall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Thanington is the best all around choice for Canterbury - clean rooms, great service, heated pool, car park, minutes from train station and Cathedral. We were most impressed with the staff. Ask for Toby. Top notch service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Other experiences will vary granted but mine was perfect, allow me to explain why...
I went there to study at the university and stayed over night after an incredibly hard day of studying. I was met with a warm and friendly welcome by the staff and that was only toped by the welcome from the room. Very comfortable and clean. I had a great room towards the back overlooking the pool and had no noise disturbances. The pool was small yes but it was clean, good temperature and allowed me to to melt all of the days stress away. The hotel is located ona main road a short walk away from the centre of town but it was easy but I did get a cab back because it was raining heavily. I had a great sleep and enjoyed a morning swim before my breakfast. The breakfast was outstanding! Plenty of coninetal options to the point I was a risk on filling up on that. The cooked full english breakfast I had was very tasty and cooked well. I left that hotel very satisfied and will be staying there again.

Room Tip: I saw a review previously that complained about noise but that was from 3 years ago, ask for the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I admittedly booked at Thanington Hotel because I was booking late for the Bank Holiday/Mid-term Break and they had an open room to accommodate my family of five, the Canterbury Suite. Located on the 2nd floor, the Canterbury Suite (Rooms 15 & 16) have a living room area with a fold out couch and a master bedroom with en suite bathroom. A crib may be provided upon request. It is evident that this room has been remodeled or touched up lately as everything looks nearly new. Breakfast was included.

The staff was accommodating from the get go. As I was booking late, I elected to call to secure a room. All details were finalized and emailed to me. I then received a follow-up phone call to verify things were in order. Upon arrival, we were greeted upon entry, registered, and shown to our rooms. The breakfast service staff is very attentive. All staff have been courteous and professional.

Some parking is provided on-site free of charge. Some staff may recommend to you overflow parking in the residential area behind the lamp shop across the street. I elected to used the car park on Cow Lane as it is monitored by CCTV and costs £2.40/24 hours and is 0.2 miles from the hotel.

Overall, I found this to be a pleasant independently operated hotel. Their rates don't break the bank, and the 15 minute walk into town is fine. The walk into town takes you by many of Canterbury's attractions. There are a few restaurants nearby and an Aldi. There is also quick access to the A2 if you're heading to Dover for the day. I'd stay here again and encourage you to check it out.

Pros:
Courteous, welcoming staff.
Free on-site parking
Free WiFi
Indoor heated pool
HUGE selection of GOOD Scotch

Cons:
On-site parking limited, tight for larger vehicles
WiFi can be spotty at times
No AC

Room Tip: If you are bothered by road noise or think you may be bothered by road noise, ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,987 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Hotel

Address: 140 Wincheap | Kent, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England (Formerly Thanington Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range: $119 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canterbury Hotel is a short three minute walk to the City walls, approximately seven minutes to the High Street, Canterbury Cathedral and all the main attractions of this beautiful city. Combining Georgian elegance with excellent service, Canterbury Hotel offers a variety of en-suite rooms, maintained to an exceptionally high standard. Facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, a comfortable bar offering an extensive range of spirits, beer, malt whiskies and fine wines. The beautiful courtyard garden provides a relaxing oasis. There is free wifi in all rooms and a secure car park. Breakfast is included in the tariff. Canterbury Hotel, as well as being a short walk to city centre and train station is ideally located for the Channel Tunnel and Port of Dover for those leaving or just entering the country. In addition to a lovely private indoor heated swimming pool there is a fully staffed spa offering a range of massages and facial treatments including anti-ageing and Thalgo treatments, manicures and pedicures, waxing and tinting. Canterbury Hotel has some of the very best facilities anywhere in the city of Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canterbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing