We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean and very Considerate”
Review of Canterbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean and very Considerate”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very friendly staff who always smiled. Bedroom very comfortable and temperature good. WiFi a bit weak, and the electric tripped 3 times whilst using the iron. The staff reacted quickly each time to put it right. Breakfast in the good bracket, the juice was warm, don't you just hate that.

Would return a nice walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda D, Owner at Canterbury Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, it has been really helpful. Whilst I did know about the wifi and we are in the process of putting in new wireless access points to improve things, I didn't know about the iron problem. We have checked them all and thrown out the offending one! As for the juice, I'm so sorry that it was warm. After reading your review, we immediately ordered new jugs for the juices and milk, which have an ice compartment to keep them really cool.
Thank you again, for your review, we work hard to improve the hotel wherever we can.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    101
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
124
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a dog friendly room and had a pleasant stay. The hotel is about 10 mins from the centre. Well run and clean and with a very good cooked breakfast, we have no complaints. The hotel is on a busy road, though the rooms in the annex are well set back and quiet. During our stay work was being carried out, but the disruption was minimal. Though the hotel is opposite a small park, there is little else to commend the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just there for two nights, and everything was excellent. A splendid and recently refurbished room with a four poster bed and luxurious bathroom. Breakfast is really good, quite ready to make the odd change as well. Very convenient for the centre of Canterbury too, about a 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Don't think all rooms have a four poster bed so need to specify when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinLaRoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Excellent hotel, we were very happy to find such a lovely hotel that was also dog-friendly. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff are genuinely friendly and the walk into the main part of Canterbury is nice enough (I would always recommend a taxi at night though). The hotel was nicely decorated with Christmas decorations (our stay was mid-December) and the indoor pool looked great even though we didn't get a chance to swim during our stay. The garden in the centre is nice with a lovely fish pond. Breakfast was very good and two of our party are vegetarian and were well catered for. Well done Thanington Hotel and thank you for making our pre-Christmas break a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good old fashion service, our family of five were well looked after. Excellent breakfast with great varity and generous amounts of high quality food included in the very affordable room rate. Easy walking distance to train and city centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is the second time this year we have stayed at the Thanington Hotel. This time they changed our room at short notice, as we have an arthritic dog, and he couldnt go upstairs!
Generous choice for breakfast, a nice clean hotel. Very happy.
Good location for the city centre, easy to walk there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cammyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was for my 40th and along with my partner organising surprise champagne and balloons, Sam in reception went out of her way to make our trip one to remember. We stayed in room 12a, with a beautifully made four poster bed. The room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The little extras were the helpfulness of Sam, who gave us a map, told us where to visit, printed off shopping lists and put a bottle stopper in the champagne, when she found it opened the next day, because we couldn't finish it. The hotel is a nice walk from the centre and if you walk along the city wall, you can see for miles. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and freshly made. We would recommend a visit to Canterbury and a stay at the Thanington. Next time we'll stay longer so we have time to use the pool.
Thank you Sam for all your help and thoughtfulness
Karen & Sam

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karensam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,908 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Hotel

Property: Canterbury Hotel
Address: 140 Wincheap | Kent, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England (Formerly Thanington Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canterbury Hotel is a short three minute walk to the City walls, approximately seven minutes to the High Street, Canterbury Cathedral and all the main attractions of this beautiful city. Combining Georgian elegance with excellent service, Canterbury Hotel offers a variety of en-suite rooms, maintained to an exceptionally high standard. Facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, a comfortable bar offering an extensive range of spirits, beer, malt whiskies and fine wines. The beautiful courtyard garden provides a relaxing oasis. There is free wifi in all rooms and a secure car park. Breakfast is included in the tariff. Canterbury Hotel, as well as being a short walk to city centre and train station is ideally located for the Channel Tunnel and Port of Dover for those leaving or just entering the country. In addition to a lovely private indoor heated swimming pool there is a fully staffed spa offering a range of massages and facial treatments including anti-ageing and Thalgo treatments, manicures and pedicures, waxing and tinting. Canterbury Hotel has some of the very best facilities anywhere in the city of Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Canterbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing