We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel but offering service comparable to a good hotel”
Review of Kipps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kipps
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Justifiably awarded the Number 1 spot in England more than once, exceptionally welcoming, with the friendly and helpful staff making it feel like a top family hotel. One of the few independents that can match the English YHA hostels in standards.
Free tea/coffee, sometimes even cakes/snacks available are an ideal welcome for tired travelers.
The reception sells some food and other essentials, useful as the nearest supermarkets are in the city centre, perhaps 20 minutes walk.
The area is residential, so you need to be quiet after 11.00 in the evening and get a takeaway if you wish to eat after this time, as the kitchen is closed overnight. There are plenty of restaurants and takeaways in the city centre, although the nearest pub only serves food until 8.00pm during the week, which is rather early.

Room Tip: It is a large victorian property, with high ceilings, so cool in summer. There aren't any poor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PisteGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kippscanterbury, Owner at Kipps, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi
Thank you for your nice commentsand glad you agree with out No.1 spot in England.

Hope to see you back in Canterbury and at Kipps another time

Thanks
Kipps Canterbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 214 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had come to Canterbury for my sons graduation and was running VERY late due to train problems from the recent bad weather. I literally ran in in a panic as my taxi was staying outside to take me to the cathedral. I breathlessly explained my plight and the lovely young lady said she would take my bag up to my room for me so i could run off. I got back after midnight, and found my room to be tidy, warm and with everything I needed (I opted for a single room with shared bathroom facilities). There was a hairdrier, tea and coffee, a washbasin, a cd player, clean towels etc. much more than I expected for a hostel. the bed was comfy with lovely fluffy pillows and I slept like a log after such a hectic stressful day! The next morning I had a shower in the shared bathroom, there were plenty of toiletries if you had forgotten your own, it was clean and a fab shower. the breakfast downstairs was lovely, you pay £1.95 and can eat all the continental breakfast you like (I did lol). Chatted to some other guests too who were very friendly. My first time in a hostel but wont be my last - if I come to Canterbury again I will be using Kipps again, cannot praise highly enough! well done guys!!

Room Tip: single rooms are available with shared bathroom facilities if you dont fancy the "dorm" ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I saw many hostels and so my wife did. This one was one of the best hostels ever. Adequate rooms, clean showers and toilets and very nice staff. Breakfast can be ordered on the day before, you have also the opportunity to use the kitchen to cook for yourself, thats is very helpful for backpackers. There was also free wifi and a pc for internet usage.

Nice staying at all, we can honestly recommend this hostel (unless you are group of German pupils... )

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I had an interview at the nearby uni n stayed onr night in a private room. Friendly atmosphere about the place, ppl of all nationalities, and the woman at reception was very helpful and pleasant. Room was well equipped with sink, mirror, lighting, tv/radio system, bedding, soaps and towel. Also had a hairdryer but i had bought my own. For what you pay this is a great start point for a group of friends to share a room and explore what canterbuty has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lfarnin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is the best hostel I ever stayed in by far. Brilliant atmosphere, staff who go out of their way to make you feel at home, and who are full of ideas to make your stay even more pleasant (pub night and barbecue!). All this contributes to the great "family feeling" of Kipps. And, on top of that... You don't need ear plugs to enjoy a good night's sleep. I simply LOVE this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heleen-from-the-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Fine. Basic but adequate & at less than £20 it can't be bad. Lovely staff were very helpful. Beautiful garden too. Give it a try, it won't cost you much.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at Kipps for a hen night and was excellent accommodation for our needs. Weather was beautiful so we had such a good time in the garden space which was lovely and sunny and well maintained. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We did have a bit of an issue with lack of hot water for the shower...but everything else was fine. Hostel was very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Room near the road can be quite bright and we were woken up by birds singing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildButtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
464 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
0.4 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipps

Address: 40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury CT1 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Canterbury
Price Range: $22 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kipps Canterbury, a Friendly Backpackers Hostel in Canterbury, Kent We are situated in a quiet residential area around 10 minutes- walk to the famous Canterbury Cathedral, Historic Town and Canterbury’s other main attractions. Set in a beautiful 130 year old town house, we offer a wide range of budget accommodation from dormitory rooms to single and double/twin rooms, - suitable for both groups and individuals. Our Friendly staff will welcome you to our award winning backpackers, including a Rose Award for recognition to services from Visit England Tourist Board and No.1 Rated on Trip Advisor. We offer excellent facilities at Kipps Canterbury, including :- A large fully equipped kitchen Free Fibre Wi-Fi throughout the hostel Large Countryside garden, with Pool Table/BBQs (Summertime) Large lounge with Digital TV/ PC/ Vending Machines/ Xbox and Wii Large Dining area situated in our conservatory with views of the garden. Buffet Continental Breakfast. Fully heated and hot water 24/7 Laundry and drying facilities (Chargeable) Free left luggage facility Dormitories – En-suite/ Free Lockers/ Towels & Bedding Private Rooms – Tea & Coffee Facilities/ Digital TV/ Towels/ Desk and Wash Basin. Kipps Canterbury is within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Canterbury East Train Station and the Main Bus station. Kipps Canterbury is an ideal base to explore the Kent Countryside known as the 'Garden of England'. Seaside resorts of Whitstable and Herne Bay are within easy cycling distance and for the more adventurous by foot.. A Short bus/ train ride will also take you to attractions like Dover Castle, Leeds Castle and to the Kent Coast We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful backpackers and to our Historic City Please read hostel conditions. Photo ID is required on Check in (inc UK/EUCitizens) OPENING HOURS Check in Time: 2pm-Midnight. Please let us know if you are arriving after 2pm KITCHEN – Our Self Catering Kitchen is open daily from 08:00am-10:00am/ 02:00pm-10:00pm. At other times the kitchen is closed to allow us to carry out general cleaning and maintenance Dormitory Rooms – Rooms are closed daily from 11am-2pm, to allow us to carry out daily housekeeping and maintenance. The Lounge is open for you to relax in during these times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kipps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing