We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kipps hostel, Canterbury”
Review of Kipps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kipps
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Little to say. The staff seemed to be helpful. The dorm was a bit small, but okay. Try to arrive early and get to know people...I arrived late and had a bad experience with a fellow who woke me up at 4.00 AM. One of those things really. After a little moral persuasion from me, the management did the right thing and refunded me the second night, which I cancelled at less than 48 hrs notice, which was highly commendable.

Room Tip: Well, just get to know your fellow dorm mouses in advance. It helps.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank critterculleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Kipps
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 210 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

The room was spacious, CLEAN, well outfitted. It felt so welcoming, the way the room was set up for guests with towels and the information book and the nice beds. The entire hostel was very clean and cosy. You could just tell that Kipps was actually cleaned! Comfy beds. Friendly employees. Big, clean kitchen for guest use. Great value and great price. Kipps is the best hostel at which I have stayed. I missed Kipps sorely once we arrived at our next hostel/pigsty on our trip...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This was my first experience of a hostel and although the place seemed very nice, the people were friendly and the grounds were great, it's really nothing like staying in a hotel!

I had no choice (as it was fully booked) to stay in a female dorm. It seemed a little small but was what I expected really, I was just glad I got a single bed in the middle of the room rather than a bunk bed!
The shower and toilet room was not that nice really rather dated, and my bedding looked a little stained, however they did lend me a towel as I had forgotten mine.

The kitchen, living room & dinning room were nice a clean and of good size. They were all also very well equipt, with TV DVD, computer internet, free coffee and tea, access to all the kitchen appliances needed, so overal very nice. I enjoyed spending time in their beautiful garden! The kitchen closed at 11pm which was annoying for me, but the living room was open until 1am to socialise quietly.

If you are used to hostels I'm sure this is a really good one and the staff were helpful although at times you weren't sure if they were guest or staff, but nice atmosphere, seemed relaxed, and they had parking facilaties. I think I would have enjoyed more if I was able to get a single room to myself.

Room Tip: Book a siungle room early, or get a group of you and book a whole dorm.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLadyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Though staying in hostels with a group of 20 and more students on a school trip can sometimes be a bit trying here we found an amazingly warm welcome and encountered a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. All the "freebies" on offer were also a great help with a rather low budget as were all the advice and support by a terrific staff with organising activities locally.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curly989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this small hostel located about 1km from the centre of Canterbury, in a quiet residential street. Our double room was at the back of the hostel overlooking the pretty garden. The hostel has a lovely country feel, is very clean, quiet & peaceful. We were not disturbed by noisy guests or loud parties, as their rules are quite strict about noise after 11pm, so this is an ideal place if you want peace & quiet. We were among a number of older guests during our stay, so didn't feel out of place, and were made to feel very welcome by the staff, who made suggestions on transport, places to visit and restaurants. There is a very homely front lounge room with a terrific selection of DVD's and books, with free wi-fi. Really enjoyed our stay there and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemnzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

KiPPs hostel is an absolutely wonderful place to stay. All the staff are friendly and entertaining - I didn't even realise some of them worked here for a while. The distance from Canterbury City Centre means that it's great for anyone visiting on business or for pleasure. The staff were helpful and actually fed me quite a lot (on cake night, sausage night and pancake night... so many pancakes...) to the point where I didn't often feed myself.

Kipps offers for free things that their only local competition, YHA, charges for, such as internet access and towel rental. I made several friends here and I know I'm not the only one who is sad to leave. If I ever have business in Canterbury again I will certainly be staying at Kipps - it is far more enjoyable than hotels that cost five times as much.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I only stayed at the Kipps for 2 nights, but it was really amazing!! I had booked myself a single room, and while it was small, it had everything I needed. Anyone who wants to have a nice time in Canterbury and doesn't mind the 5 minute walk into the centre should stay here.

The hostel offers everything from a small common room with computer access, tv, dvd's and books. A kitchen that you can use (which is perfect if you don't want to go out for dinner every night), and a good breakfast every morning. They have also got a sweet small back garden that you can stay in. Not to forget the free Wifi.

They were really helpful and friendly and even helped me with a my suitcase! Thanks again!!

Room Tip: Single Room with mini dvd player!!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonygarou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,954 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
0.4 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipps

Address: 40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury CT1 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Canterbury
Price Range: $33 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kipps Canterbury, a Friendly Backpackers Hostel in Canterbury, Kent We are situated in a quiet residential area around 10 minutes- walk to the famous Canterbury Cathedral, Historic Town and Canterbury’s other main attractions. Set in a beautiful 130 year old town house, we offer a wide range of budget accommodation from dormitory rooms to single and double/twin rooms, - suitable for both groups and individuals. Our Friendly staff will welcome you to our award winning backpackers, including a Rose Award for recognition to services from Visit England Tourist Board and No.1 Rated on Trip Advisor. We offer excellent facilities at Kipps Canterbury, including :- A large fully equipped kitchen Free Fibre Wi-Fi throughout the hostel Large Countryside garden, with Pool Table/BBQs (Summertime) Large lounge with Digital TV/ PC/ Vending Machines/ Xbox and Wii Large Dining area situated in our conservatory with views of the garden. Buffet Continental Breakfast. Fully heated and hot water 24/7 Laundry and drying facilities (Chargeable) Free left luggage facility Dormitories – En-suite/ Free Lockers/ Towels & Bedding Private Rooms – Tea & Coffee Facilities/ Digital TV/ Towels/ Desk and Wash Basin. Kipps Canterbury is within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Canterbury East Train Station and the Main Bus station. Kipps Canterbury is an ideal base to explore the Kent Countryside known as the 'Garden of England'. Seaside resorts of Whitstable and Herne Bay are within easy cycling distance and for the more adventurous by foot.. A Short bus/ train ride will also take you to attractions like Dover Castle, Leeds Castle and to the Kent Coast We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful backpackers and to our Historic City Please read hostel conditions. Photo ID is required on Check in (inc UK/EUCitizens) OPENING HOURS Check in Time: 2pm-Midnight. Please let us know if you are arriving after 2pm KITCHEN – Our Self Catering Kitchen is open daily from 08:00am-10:00am/ 02:00pm-10:00pm. At other times the kitchen is closed to allow us to carry out general cleaning and maintenance Dormitory Rooms – Rooms are closed daily from 11am-2pm, to allow us to carry out daily housekeeping and maintenance. The Lounge is open for you to relax in during these times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kipps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing