We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening out”
Review of Gulbenkian Theatre

Gulbenkian Theatre
Ranked #35 of 108 things to do in Canterbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gulbenkian is the University of Kent's Arts Centre offering innovative, engaging and high quality arts activity for the public, staff and students. It provides a key role in delivering the University commitment to public engagement and has a particular focus on the creative empowerment of children and young people. The building contains a 340 seat theatre, 300 seat cinema and a café which incorporates an informal cabaret style space for live music, comedy and slam poetry. In 2014, 936 events including music, comedy, theatre, dance and film attracted 97,786 people to Gulbenkian. The arts centre attracts a range of conferences and events to Kent such as BBC Question Time. Our work with young people includes the Gulbenkian Youth Theatre with over 100 members aged 5-18 years. We are also home to ART31, a cultural leadership project, led by young people and Tech(Y)31 plus the international family festival- bOing!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great evening out”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Staff was amazing, very good seating and had an overall fantastic time. Easy access for all people weather it is driving, bus or walking.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emmie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I saw some comedy here, it was so funny. They host many exciting evenings. I suggest a walk down there. Plus they have sweets and stuff. And nice food

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Portanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Shows Good prices”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A great range of shows at good prices. Never been to a bad show and always good value for money. Not the smartest of venues, but it doesn't matter when the shows are good and the prices great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exciting programme and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The programme is always diverse and exciting with a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Love the entrance and cafe

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First time visitor and we'll be back!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I live local to the Gulbekian and decided to give it a go and went to see The Crucible, the venue was excellent and just a right size to feel intimate but still a good size, the performance was awesome and has now got us hooked and looking to book our next show. I can't comment on the food as we never ate here though I probably wouldn't, not with the city so close. Beer was fine though!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulbenkian Theatre also viewed

 
Broad Oak, Canterbury
Fordwich, Canterbury
 

Been to Gulbenkian Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing