We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing retreat. We still talk about it!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Coccosava...
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing retreat. We still talk about it!”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This review is highly overdue but i was determined to write it. Podlinge is simply put, an amazing place. The care that the landlady, Nessa, puts into the cottage is wonderful. We instantly felt at home when we arrived and both Nessa and her husband, greeted us warmly.

Everything is new and modern yet with a country cottage feel. The property contains beautiful barn doors and lots of natural light with incredible views across stunning fields and use of Nessa and John's tennis courts and gardens etc. The cottage contains lots of personal touches and is spotlessly clean. The kitchen is filled with every utensil you can imagine and we loved cooking and relaxing with a glass of wine whilst enjoying the amazing scenery.

However, the most memorable aspect of this property is Nessa and how well she treats her guests. Nothing is too much trouble for her and she constantly checks to ensure you want for nothing - such a rare quality in people these days and it comes from her heart.

Nessa's delicious homemade breads and flapjacks along with her fabulous welcome pack, was thoroughly enjoyed by us. She was also so flexible with extending our stay that by the time we left we bought HER a thank you gift as it had been such a memorable stay. Her children and dog are all characters and we loved being in the midst of it all yet with our own privacy, which was fully respected at all times.

My husband and i talk about our stay at Podlinge to this day and we would definitely like to return soon. Thank you Nessa and John, for being such wonderful people and opening your gorgeous property to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah1964...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“We will be going again - Excellent”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Podlinge Barn is an excellent location for a holiday. We stayed with our 3 nieces and had a wonderful time. The barn is beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The tennis court and other sports equipment were brilliant. The countryside around the barn is lovely. We were unlucky with the weather but there were games galore and baking to do. There is so much to do in the area we only skimmed the surface and want to come back to do more walking and sightseeing - if I can ever get the girls away from the tennis court! Nessa and John were so welcoming and excellent hosts. The thoughtful contents of the fridge we much appreciated particularly after our journey. All in all an excellent holiday and one we hope to repeat very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location, welcome and accomodation
Liked least: The weather but that was extremely unusual for the area!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MFWILD13
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fantastic rural retreat that is well off the beaten track but only 20 minutes from the centre of the lovely city of Canterbury.

Nessa and John have truly thought of everything anyone could need in a holiday home and provided it at the spotlessly clean and extremely well presented Podlinge barn. The warmth of their hospitality and the delicious welcoming pack including home made cake and bread are the icing on the cake. Our children really enjoyed the table tennis and tennis courts too.

Highly recommended for anyone looking for a really relaxing and tranquil break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the woodpecker feed in the garden and the Victoria sandwich cake
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday spot”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Podlinge Barn is a wonderful retreat. It is situated in the most beautiful countryside and the Barn itself is tastefully decorated, comfortable and extremely well equipped. Nessa and John are so welcoming and kind, and made our stay extra special with their lovely welcoming gifts, allowing us to share their beautiful garden, tennis court and games. Our two girls loved playing with Barley the dog and we would also recommend one of Nessa’s wonderful treatments. This is a peaceful oasis in a beautiful part of the country, but there is also plenty to do within an hour’s drive including zoos, castles, blue flag beaches, lovely country pubs serving fabulous food and also the farm shops selling the most delicious selection of local produce. We recommend Podlinge whole heartedly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful setting
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emvee2015
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A tranquil, hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Where to begin......possibly with the smell of a warm homemade loaf, a Victoria sandwich cake (worthy of a WI entry and a definite winner) fruit, eggs, butter, milk and a bottle of wine! Not forgetting a very warm welcome from Nessa and John and later in the week an introduction to more members of their lovely family including the gorgeous Barley!

Podlinge Barn is set in the most idyllic location, it is so peaceful and tranquil - the perfect place to relax, unwind and recharge your batteries, see wildlife and so many varieties of British birds! It's ideally located to visit the Coast and quaint little villages, Canterbury Cathedral and the City itself, Wineries and Castles you really are spoilt for choice. When you return home to Podlinge you are surrounded by beautiful countryside with good walks, cycle routes...as long as you don't mind a hill or two!! Or if you prefer you can enjoy a game of tennis, rounders or aerobie whatever you fancy on the court or large grass area to the side of the Barn. Perfect!

The Barn itself truly is a home from home - the pictures don't do it justice, it's beautifully decorated and is lovingly finished with homely touches. It is equipped with everything you could possibly need - if you do happen to need anything that isn't there...you only have to ask! We needed some herbs which we'd forgotten to buy for a special meal we were cooking.....Nessa led me out to her garden where I could help myself to what I needed! Fantastic!

There are some lovely places to eat and drink within a few miles of Podlinge Barn and I strongly recommend you try The Compasses Inn where you will find a couple who are passionate about the food they serve and quite rightly so!

Basically if you want the perfect base to explore the beautiful County of Kent.....Podlinge Barn and your warm and welcoming hosts Nessa and John is the place for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Narrow country lanes - be careful!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful accommodation, fantastic views”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from a fantastic five day stay at Podlinge Barn. The property is in the most beautiful English countryside, with views of fields and hills stretching for miles. As well as having amazing views, it's only 20 minutes from Canterbury and a short drive to lots of places to visit, including the coast. We were a family of three generations, including children aged 6 and 2 months. The girls loved it there, in fact the baby had her best nights sleep yet! It must have been the country air.

The accommodation was gorgeous, comfy beds and had everything we needed. The owners, Nessa and John, were very welcoming and had baked a tasty cake and homemade bread for us when we arrived. They were really helpful about places to visit and how to get around the country lanes. It made all the difference to our stay.

We'd really recommend Podlinge Barn for rest and relaxation and as a base for visiting the lovely Kent coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country views
Liked least: Single track roads
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna M
Croydon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely peaceful and homely accomodation”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We visited for a long weekend my husband, grandad, our 3 children age 8,5 & 1.5. Something for everyone!! Owners were very welcoming and accommodation 1st class. Lots to do out and about and we all loved tennis court on site. Will be back to Kent next year

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing