We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee in a great atmosphere”

Water Lane Coffeehouse
Ranked #11 of 35 Coffee & Tea in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee in a great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a coffee here whilst waiting for our boat your down the river. Highly recommended!
Selection not only of types of coffee, but also a selection of brewing methods!

Helpful?
2 Thank patchdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    24
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited the coffee shop while waiting for our trip down the river on a punt. All the staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed. We only had coffee which was good but the cakes on display looked very good and reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Having heard by word of mouth (and from the reviews here) that 'Browns' served the best coffee in town, I was really looking forward to trying a cup myself. Sadly. both I and my wife were very disappointed by what we thought a rather indifferent cups of coffee. Perhaps it was an 'off day', but by this showing it doesn't even scrape into my top ten places for coffee in the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good coffee and good service!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good coffee with a very good view. The cakes are worth trying too. Had a slice of Lemon Drizzle and loved it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JiaHuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in Canterbury”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Always produces an excellent cup of coffee that is in a league of its own in Canterbury, or indeed most places in the UK. Thoughtful and informed staff and pleasant surroundings with free wi-fi. It is getting increasingly difficult to find a seat at popular times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Lane Coffeehouse also viewed

 

Been to Water Lane Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing