We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water Lane Coffeehouse

Water Lane Coffeehouse
Ranked #9 of 37 Coffee & Tea in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Browns is one of the few coffee houses in Canterbury to accept dogs and it's right next to a great park too. The coffee is amazing and the staff are very attentive. I hope it doesn't get too popular and lose its charm (I also might not get a seat!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    24
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hidden away by the river, Browns was a nice discovery. It's slightly away from the busy High Street and shopping areas, making it a bit of an oasis for people wanting a break. If you're lucky, you can grab one of the big leather sofas. Home made cakes were great also.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ManuelaMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good coffee and pastries, wonderful ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The coffee and tea are good, and an extra attraction here is the pleasant ambiance in a room full of slightly beat-up comfortable furniture with a mix of tourists and students on laptops.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank globecrawlerMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in Canterbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My partner and I visited this place before heading into town for some shopping. I couldn't find it the first time round but found it the second, hiding behind the bike shop. The decor was lovely and it had a very cosy atmosphere. They really know what they are doing with the coffee, i had a flat white and my partner had a cappuccino. The milk just the right temperature so that it tasted sweet and velvety and the coffee flavour really coming through. I was angry that my partner had put sugar in his. The little pastry i had was nice put i don't think they are made in the premises.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT coffee, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Being a barista myself, it is hard for me to find coffeeshops that really meet my high coffee standards. We went to Browns before a river tour in Canterbury, and it was a really great find! The coffee was delicious, I actually purchased some of their coffee to bring home. The staff was really friendly, and it was nice to engage in some coffee talk.

I highly recommend going here. Though I didn't stick around to do work or to chat for very long, it seemed like a really great atmosphere for a coffee date or an informal meeting. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smuir23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Lane Coffeehouse also viewed

 

Been to Water Lane Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing