We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called Bed & Cereal....”
Review of Greyfriars Lodge

Greyfriars Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greyfriars Lodge
Ranked #66 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Should be called Bed & Cereal....”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night (luckily, as that was enough!), everything is tired and grubby. Cheap beds and a "bathroom" that can just about fit in a small 4yo! I can't believe what they charge for this... The whole place needs re-decorating... Breakfast was a real disappointment, no cooked food at all, just some cereal, bread & bit of manky uncovered fruit salad that looked like it was probably fresh 2wks beforehand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    22
    18
    12
See reviews for
26
40
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Location is good, but as is often the case in the UK, parking is an issue. At least there are measures in place to provide free parking in local car-parks. It is budget accommodation so we weren't looking for luxury so the rooms though faded etc. were ok.
The major problems:
1. Security: we were escorted in and out as if we were criminals(every other B&B in the UK can give you a key), having to ring the bell each time very inconvenient.
2. Breakfast extremely poor - the tea seemed to be made from the cheapest tea bags possible. The worst tea in England without a doubt. If the tea is good I can put up with a lot!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canterbury hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Small rooms. Poor quality curtains don't close or block out light. Room 4 at front suffered with noise from street and in hallway. En-suite bathroom tiny, not very clean and difficult to use. The toilet is a vacuum flush like found on a boat, works well but very noisy for a small noise sensitive property.
Staff are well versed and coached in highlighting the shortcomings before you notice them; offering a solution to a problem you weren't aware of.
Most worrying is how the tourist office up the road 'highly' reccomended this place.
Not secure, rooms are left unlocked or with keys in door during day.
Biggest moan - NO KEY FOR FRONT DOOR - ring one bell before 11pm and another after, no keys to be taken out of hotel ....... I'm not 12.
I regret booking this hotel.

Room Tip: If every other hotel is full, sleep in your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This place had been recommended by the guide Michelin, which is usually a safe source. But this time, they were quite wrong. There are a couple of problems with this place:

1.Rooms are small. It's like the set-up of the rooms has been carefully designed for peaceful coexistence of two beds, a cupboard, a table&chair, and a giant (empty) minibar: As soon as people with luggage are added to the scenery, it does not work anymore. When you put the luggage on the table, there is no corridor left to reach the bed, when you slightly displace the bed, then the bathroom door does not open properly anymore. That sort of a problem.

2. It's an old building, which is charming in principle, but the place needs some refurbishment. The beds are wobbly, the carpet does not inspire much confidence (the British likes for carpets in the most heavily frequented places is an interesting, yet different story) and the bathroom lavatory was so small that you could not put your head under the tap - no joke.

3. We did not have any problems with noise as other clients had experienced, but this is the typical example of the selling argument "central location" turning out as a potential curse. It is dangerously close to the main pedestrian street and a huge pub, where young people like to do bachelors' parties.

4. Finally, and what I personally found most irritating, is the house management's obsession with controlling the entrance. Every time you approach the exit, somebody would rush by and ask you to leave the key in the house. Every time, you want to get back into the place, you have to ring a bell and somebody would unlock the door. I felt reminded of the good old times in boarding school.

I wouldn't give it a better score than "acceptable". You should possibly check the price on the phone, because via internet booking.com it actually was not really cheap.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank xandiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

One of the worst experiences we've had in a B&B. The owner doesn't live on site and it really shows. We stayed for 3 nights and had a room downstairs. We were woken every morning by the owner coming in through the front door, walking past our room into the kitchen and proceeding to cook breakfast. The clattering etc from the kitchen caused a lot of noise and the rather unpleasant smells from the kitchen wafted into our bedroom. The breakfast was of a very poor quality and tasted very cheap. For the 2nd and 3rd nights of our stay we went to the local cafe for our breakfast.

During our stay the fire alarm went off in the building at around 7pm and all the guests assembled outside. Due to the fact that the owner lives off site, it took him 30 minutes to arrive to switch the alarm off. Standing outside on a dark Winter's night was not a pleasant experience.

The room consisted of shabby furnishings and an old TV. Although the staff were quite polite, there was no friendly atmosphere or warm welcome - again, because the owner was never around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O_D_Reed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This showed up as a new hotel so we thought we would give it a try over the Easter weekend. Turned out to be a big mistake. There was no hot water in the entire hotel, no heating in our room and the telly wasn't working! The staff were very apologetic but we really felt they should have not opened the hotel for business without sorting some basics out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reshma999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed the same weekend (Easter Weekend) as Caroline S and endured too the drunk-fest outside until the very early hours. Hot water was eventually restored but to a dismal water pressure. The TV in our room was a beaten up model long obselete and with a reception that seemed to be beamed in from Mars! But worst of all was breakfast.. the most dispiriting, lack-lustre breakfast imaginable. Everything looked, tasted and most definitely was the cheapest of cheap. Coffee tasted reused, bread was tasteless, economy range pap, a few muffins (who eats muffins at breakfast?) were lined up with enough space between to reverse a truck through, orange juice concentrate, cereals in cheap little dispenser unit with dust on top, cheap ham thinner than skin brought to table along with arranged pieces of bitter cheese - and all 'enjoyed' in a souless room devoid of any character. Depressing place, but staff were nice. Avoid!

Room Tip: Absolutely no front facing room - unless you enjoy the diversion of watching the young drunks of Can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawks Lane Lodge
Hawks Lane Lodge
#40 of 75 in Canterbury
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bijou Abode - Chaucer House
Bijou Abode - Chaucer House
#56 of 75 in Canterbury
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfriars Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Lodge

Property: Greyfriars Lodge
Address: 6 Stour Street, Canterbury CT1 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Greyfriars Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing