We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
121
142
52
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
121
142
52
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marlowe theatre oscar wilde car park high street four poster bed old building eggs benedict full english would stay here again would recommend this hotel to anyone breakfast included per day rooms are small no lift centre of town location is great short walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 346 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

We stopped here for 4 nights whilst visiting Canterbury and seeing a show at the Marlowe Theatre. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The location, in the city centre and opposite the Marlowe, is ideal for exploring, especially if visiting without a car.
There are no lifts, which could be a problem for the less able. Our room faced the back of the hotel, so the view was boring but it was nice and quiet. The room was old (like the hotel) but clean and well maintained. It was large enough to store our cases and move around.
Breakfast was good and cooked to order. Again, the serving staff were efficient and friendly.
We would stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Yorks-Rick-and-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

The Pilgrim's Hotel location is excellent if you are visiting Canterbury to see a show. In fact it is excellent full stop, because the centre of Canterbury is within walking distance.

The recommended car park is in St Radigund's Street. It's not too far away, but unless you plan the walk, you will end up going around the houses somewhat - well we did! Actually, if you follow the direct route, you will essentially be going along the riverside walk - which is fine - apart from the bridges that you need to cross with cases. These are quite steep stairs, and with heavy cases it's not simple.

Check in was fast, and we stayed in the Oscar Wilde room - a four poster room. The hotel is old - and that doesn't lend itself to accessibility - you have to get your luggage up quite a narrow staircase, and then there are a few other small steps and some narrow winding hallways. The proerty is old, and that is apparent from the creaky and slightly unlevel floors - but that is part of the charm.

We could not really fault the room itself. It had a four poster bed - I didn't find it comfortable, but to be honest I always find beds other than my own uncomfortable. The shower was good, and the supplied toiletries were nice. There were perhaps three issues that were environmental rather than room problems.

The first was getting woken up at 6.30am by what we thought was the fidget family. Actually, once we explorered upstairs, we realised that the top floor hallway was over the side of our bedroom, essentially because our room on the first floor was enlarged. So it wasn't the fidget family - it was people walking up and down the hallway.

The second issue was smoking. Because the Oscar Wilde room is at the front of the hotel, above the main entrance and smoking area, when it's hot, if you want the windows open, you end up getting second hand smoke coming into the room. It wasn't really really bad, but it was noticeable.

The third issue is again mainly down to location - it's noisy whilst the bar is open, as directly above that - though it does empty by 11.30pm. However, you still get the late night revellers walking past until the small hours, with lots of singing, shouting and drunken threats of violence towards other revellers.

Breakfast was good - though it was being served in the bar rather than the restaurant which is currently closed for renovation. Good strong coffee available alongside a full English breakfast was appreciated - although other breakfast options are available (continental, eggs benedict, poached eggs etc).

All-in-all, it was a pleasant stay, but given what we know now, we'd probably not return, and would stay further outside the main city centre. We were fortunate that we had a four poster room, as it looked like the normal rooms were almost bed width from some of the other photos.

Room tip: Get a room away from the entrance side.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sexyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019 via mobile

I stayed for one evening as I was in town seeing a show at the Marlowe Theatre. This lovely hotel was perfectly placed, impeccably clean and the staff were all lovely and welcoming. The full English in the morning was very nice too!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank cwilko2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

The hotel in conveniently located, people are nice and friendly, breakfast is abundant and of a good quality. The cost-benefit rate is very good. There are several restaurants neareby and most attractions are at walking distance.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mmddgali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

we didn't stay at this hotel but at their sister b/b Peregrine house a short walk away
breakfast was served at the Pilgrims in a lovely light airy dining room continental buffet
full English and a selection choices cooked to order.
Pleasant staff nice homely bar bit tired but lovely atmosphere great for a drink before a show Marlow theatre opposite hotel 2 mins walk from either property to main street and attractions

Room tip: I did not stay at the main hotel but as both are on side streets noise level minimum
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews