We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
110
125
51
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
125
51
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marlowe theatre high street car park four poster bed old building short walk from the hotel a bit of a pain eggs benedict breakfast included would stay here again per day full english no lift lots of character rooms are small hear everything long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 315 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2018

Equal number of goods and bads. Gods, Staff were great. Housekeeping first class, reception extremely helpful even though obviously under pressure at times, waiting and bar staff as good as anywhere we've stayed. Room spacious and comfortable with excellent four poster bed and good size bathroom. Hotel right across the road from the theatre and easy walk to great restaurants and amenities.
Bads, a bit of street noise but why wouldn't there be considering location so do your research first. Floors thin so room above caused loss of sleep. TV didn't work neither did the bathroom radiator or the lock on its door. Decor a bit shabby with stained ceiling and cracked tile in bathroom hole in towel and no shaver point so bring a cordless razor and standard toothbrush if you normally use an electric. Stairs a bit narrow and windy with no lift option.
Bad start when we booked in. Reception gave us the wrong key so instead of a four poster bed we found ourselves staring at someone else's pants. This was soon rectified with the assistance of reception and pants owner so all ended well and in good humour. Oh and don't forget this is Canterbury, a cathedral city, so prepare for a few bells on sunday morning.

Room Tip: Lower floor rear probably quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank geoff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the hotel. The stuff was so helpful and kind and the room was perfect.

We enjoyed also the food at both hotel’s restaurants.

This is a place were I will come back with great pleasure

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Josephine1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Just stayed one Saturday night here to explore Canterbury. This hotel is superbly located in the centre of the city, is refurbished beautifully, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was included and we could order whatever and how much we wanted! From cereals and pastries to full English, from eggs Benedict to French toast with maple syrup and strawberries. It was phenomenal. We booked a family suite and it was gorgeous. My only issue was the noise during the night - people above us, loud music playing from somewhere, and the rain on the attic roof. But none of this was the hotel's fault. Otherwise, had a really fabulous stay. Thank you.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2017

near the Cathedral and with a very good location .The breakfast it´s genereous and the restaurante very good quality .
i´ve a problema with public car parking and the staff gave to us a good support to solve it .
please pay attention to single rroms , there are some problems to have bath in one room .
they have larger rooms for families

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josereves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017

I booked at Pilgrims for six nights with my wife in November and we really enjoyed our stay. We had a tiny room on the second floor, I was aware of its size and situation when I booked so there are no complaints, we are pensioners but managed fine. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels were put out for us along with coffee sachets, tea bags and a few biscuits. Furthermore the bedding was changed after three days by our very jolly `English maid`.

The hotel has two really good eating rooms serving a very nice selection of dishes which were made all the more enjoyable due to the 20% residents discounts on food and drinks. Breakfast was included in our deal and offered plenty of choice. Staff are mainly from Slovakia plus French and Italian plus a couple of Brits for good measure, all lovely people with great work ethic.

All-in-all a super few days in the delightful city of Canterbury and should I pass that way again I`d have no hesitation in booking in at Pilgrims.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet side road just off the main street, no noise problems at all with any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jamesthethirst2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews