We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Cosy, & Convenient!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilgrims Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Cosy, & Convenient!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had tickets to a show at the Marlow and wanted to make a weekend of it so booked a room at the Pilgrims hotel. Location wise this hotel is perfect, right in the middle of Canterbury, about a 10 min walk from the train station, and about a 30 second walk to the theatre. We walked in to a lit fire, and a cosy looking entrance. Check in was quick and effortless and the staff where all very friendly. The room was small, but for one night this really didn't bother us. The room was warm, very clean and had a brand new bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities, (no hairdryer but when we asked reception bought one right away) plenty of towels and toiletries and overall just lovely. We woke to the bells from the Cathedral and Enjoyed a brilliant cooked English breakfast. Overall, a very clean, warm pleasant room, we slept really well and had a great breakfast. Staff where faultless and it really did make our weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redjoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    104
    44
    17
    16
See reviews for
63
109
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have stayed in their other hotel, The Victoria, and had a great short break but as we needed to do lots of Christmas shopping we wanted to be more central to the city centre, luckily The Pilgrims Hotel is the hotel we choose simply on the strength of our stay at The Victoria. We were greeted at reception and was told that they had upgraded us to The Marlowe room which has a four poster bed. As with our stay at their other hotel we found the service excellent and the staff all extremely friendly. what we also like about hotels like this is that they are not pretentious and you are made to feel at ease and at home. The breakfast which is included in the price is simply faultless, fresh juices, fresh coffee and tea, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, toast and jams plus a full English breakfast all cooked to order. I have stayed in many hotels in Canterbury some luxury and expensive others mid priced but my stays at The Pilgrims and The Victoria are bar far the best for comfort, friendliness and value.
Well done to all :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank humpty258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadford, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is just off the main street and right opposite the Marlowe Theatre. The room was quiet, excepting the rain and wind rattling the attic window. This is a fault of the Weather, not the management. It is an old building and rooftop window renovations are doubtless expensive and not in keeping with heritage orders.
Breakfast was plentiful and good. Meals in the restaurant excellent and good value.
The rooms are small, in the English tradition of squeezing all the requisite facilities into spaces not originally designed for them and still being able to open the door.
No lifts of course, so you will need to negotiate some steep stairs. Staff will help with luggage. Bed was comfortable except for the plastic backed mattress protector, which I removed.
Bath only in room 9, with rubber shower adapter.
I would stay here again if in Canterbury.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unclefey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for a night in November 2012 as we had a booking for a show at the Marlowe Theatre which is opposite the hotel. We were given Room 2 which we found very comfortable and although may not be considered big by some people had a lovely comfortable double bed, colour TV, tea and coffee facilities and enough storage space for our needs. The room was ensuite and, despite the bathroom being on the small side, had everything that was needed and was very clean. We had a meal at the hotel before the show and the food was excellent, as was the cooked breakfast the next morning. We found all the staff we met to be very friendly and very helpful. We would certainly stay at this hotel again next time we visit Canterbury.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just returned from our 7th visit to this lovely period hotel. The hotel is perfectly placed opposite the Marlowe Theatre and 1 min from the centre of town and all the shops and resturants you could wish for. The staff are wonderful particularly Claire and Wes. We have stayed in many of the rooms but the Marlowe is our favorite with its four poster bed and newly refurbished modern bathroom. The breakfast is included in the room rate and is amazing with everything you could wish for and the lunch and evening menus are excellent. This is a lovely little hotel with friendly staff in a perfect location at an excellent price

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We originally booked to stay at the Pilgrims Hotel well in advance due to its proximity to a special event at the Marlowe Theatre. However, as late as 9.30pm on the night before, we were telephoned by the management to hear that our romantic four poster bedroom was no longer available and that we would have to stay at the sister hotel (the Victoria) which was another 20 minutes walk further out of the city. By this time, we did not have time to book another hotel nearer to the theatre. The Victoria hotel was more of a ‘Travelodge’ type place with none of the character of the Pilgrim. It was very tired in decor, and there were some rough looking people in the bar. The hotel kindly compensated us by giving us a family room and paying for our taxi to get to the Marlowe, but this did not compensate for the disappointment we felt . If you are booking with the Pilgrim, do check well in advance that your booking is still available, however, we won't be booking with the Pilgrims Hotel again.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the Pilgrim but at the sister hotel, the Victoria, so cannot comment on the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonItalylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

2 months ago I booked a night at this hotel because we are at the Marlowe Theatre tomorrow evening and wanted somewhere close to stay. Today I have just received a phone call telling me that they are overbooked and we will have to stay at the sister hotel, 10 minutes away. To say I am furious is an understatement. As I booked 2 months ago it isn't as if they didn't have any notice. I did it through an agency (booking.com) so they will be hearing from me as well. The hotel have said they are sorry, but this just isn't good enough. No compensation was offered. My pleasant evening, just having to stroll from my hotel to the theatre and back, has now been changed completely, all because of their inefficiency. They have offered to pay for taxis to and from the theatre, but the whole tenor of the evening has changed from something pleasant and easy to something involving hassle. Needless to say, I shall not be attempting to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TunbridgegWellsJillP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Hotel

Property: Pilgrims Hotel
Address: 18 The Friars | Kent, Canterbury CT1 2AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management as of November 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrims Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing