We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,472)
Filter reviews
1,472 results
Traveler rating
668
544
166
56
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
668
544
166
56
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre bridal suite lovely hotel building site restaurant staff third floor ten minute walk jacuzzi bath good size quiet location buffet breakfast reception staff visiting canterbury biscuits within easy walking distance single room very pleasant stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 1,472 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful house with the best service possible. Staff very helpful. Excellent food and drinks. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, well equipped and perfectly clean. A really great stay. I would never hesitate to recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank persvanbergstockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbotsManager, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Thank you for your review.

Delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that your room was to your liking.

Thank you for mentioning our food and drink offerings and pleased you found everything to be excellent.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017

This hotel is very nice with a few exceptions. Staff were very nice. Car parking excellent. Exceptions - the bed making was terrible, not once was the bottom sheet smoothed at all it looked completely untouched and I had to remake the bed each time., The lighting in the room (201) was also terrible particularly bedside lighting; could not read in bed at all. Had requested a shower but this presumably was not available. To crown it all the people in room above chose to do a clog dance At 2 in the morning with tv left on loud all night. Not good!!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank otter12017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbotsManager, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Thank you for your review.

I'm pleased to read you generally found us to be very nice.

I have passed on your comments regarding the bed making to my head housekeeper to look into and rectify, this is not our usual standard as most reviews on here show. Apologies they were not met on this occasion.

We are currently in the progress of upgrading all our light bulbs to LED which will improve the lighting levels in all areas of the hotel.

The majority of our rooms are a bath with shower over, we only have 2 rooms currently with walk in shower, which unfortunately were already booked out at the time of your stay.

Apologies you were disturbed by other guests during your stay, our reception is open 24 hours, so a quick call down we could have dealt with the noise issue then and there for you.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

We were on a short weekend break and from the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff went above and beyond and were the highlight of our stay. They are all a credit to the hotel.

As for the hotel itself we had booked a Deluxe Room which was in the older part of the hotel and the room was more than adequate for our stay and as the weekend was in the "heatwave" period of June the aircon was much appreciated and needed.

As we arrived late afternoon Friday we enjoyed a glass or two in the nice garden area and dined in the hotel restaurant that evening. Food was better than we were expecting and was on a par with the meal that we had on the Saturday night in a top local venue in the town costing twice as much. Only downside was the Dining room had no windows and although not an issue on the Friday night became so on breakfast the following two days when the room became unbearably hot. Breakfast though was good that said.

Hotel is in a good location back off the road and we both slept soundly both nights. Easy stroll into the town was a bonus and was good to be able to leave the car parked up for a couple of days.

We would definitely return and if we do hope that the same staff are around. All acted very professional and efficient in all our dealings with them but at the same time helpful with knowledge of the local area and happy to have a chat if they had the time. They made a good stay into a great stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mencap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbotsManager, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Thank you for your review.

Delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that your room was to your liking.

The hotel is currently undergoing major renovations, which include a full refurbishment of all our public areas, this will address the lack of windows in the restaurant. I'm pleased however you enjoyed our dinner and breakfast offerings.

Thank you also for mentioning my team, and pleased they were all friendly and helpful, I have passed your kind comments onto them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017

We had a comfortable stay here this weekend ( end of June). It was a bit busy on the Saturday as there was a wedding on and that seemed to take the whole hotel over but we were looked after very well and the staff were pleasant and friendly.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kathbancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbotsManager, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Thank you for your review.

Pleased to read you had a comfortable stay with us.

We do have private functions on at weekends which can make it very busy. We do strive to make sure this does not impact on our guests stays.

I'm also pleased my team looked after you well and they were all pleasant and friendly, thank for giving them a mention.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the hotel in a lovely double room. We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the car park. It was a lovely spacious room with a bath in the bathroom. The breakfast was perfectly adequate. The location was in easy walking distance of the town centre and cathedral. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Meersy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbotsManager, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Thank you for your review.

Pleased to hear you had a very enjoyable weekend with us and that your room was to your liking.

We are indeed in easy access to the city centre, with it being just a 10-15 minute walk away.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Canterbury.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews