We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$132
$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$150
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$77
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$98
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
$117
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$90
$88
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,315)
Filter reviews
1,315 results
Traveler rating
608
476
145
50
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
608
476
145
50
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomcity centrebridal suitebar menulovely hotelbuilding workbuilding sitethird floorten minute walkrestaurant staffjacuzzi bathquiet locationreception staffplenty of parkingbuffet breakfastvisiting canterburywithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
948 - 953 of 1,315 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights' stay in the Abbots Barton Hotel. The room was pleasantly spacious with all amenities necessary for a comfortable stay. The restaurant food was beautifully presented and delicious and the staff courteous, friendly and helpful. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Canterbury. It deserves more that 3 stars!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your review.

My team and I are very pleased to hear you stay was an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back to Canterbury.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed at Best Western to explore the Canterbury area for 3 days.Abbots Barton Hotel proved to be exactly as there information online promised.The Hotel is an easy 10 minute walk into the City.The room we had was excellent in every way--very comfortable bed large bathroom and very clean.Could not fault the Hotel.Breakfast was first class cooked to order if you wanted or self serve from buffet.We prefer freshly cooked to order if time permits.Perfect Hotel with friendly staff in every department.Will now be looking for the next Best Western for short break.
.

Room Tip: The old original part of the Hotel has more character than new extension
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your delightful review.

My team and I are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I had a two night stay at this hotel over Easter and we took our one year old cockerpoo dog. The hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful in all our needs. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy a drink or have some food, so that the dog could crash out after long days walking about. It would have been nice if the dining room service would have been included in the bar and lounge areas, rather than just bar food, which we had to wait quite a while for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Clifford A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your review, it was nice to know you all had an enjoyable stay over Easter.

The hotel was very busy over the holiday period with a wedding on the Saturday and many guests dining in our Fountain restaurant, hence possibly why you had to wait a while for bar food. However, we would have been quite happy to serve you from our restaurant menu in the Garden room if you had your dog with you when choosing to dine.

Any one of my Duty Managers would have been able to address this for you.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had stayed at this hotel a few years ago and liked it very much; we had especially liked the restaurant which had old fashioned waiters who were very knowledgeable about the food and wines being offered. So, this was a big let down. The room we had was nice enough, although the toilet didn't flush properly, but the service in the restaurant was very poor. It now seems to be staffed by young ineperienced Eastern Europeans whose English isn't great. There was a large party at another table who seemed to take precedence over all other guests - our starter arrived relatively promptly but we then waited more than an hour for our main course. It was nice enough when it arrived but we sat there while the 'big table' 'were served main coures and desserts - not good enough really and we were very disapppointed. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and it is nice to know that you have returned to the hotel. However, it appears that on this return visit you were disappointed with the serive you recieved whilst dining in the restaurant.

Please accept my sincere aplogies on the matter you have mentioned,if you feel you would like to discuss the service issues further, then please feel free to contact me on my personal email address: christine.cooper@abbotsbartonhotel.com.

Regards

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews