We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome post Christmas Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
north yorks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A welcome post Christmas Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Husband , Spaniel and I arrived after a gruelling 8 hour drive - to a room upgrade as there was a problem with the room we had booked. Cheery reception staff could not have been more helpful. A very welcome pot of fresh tea and biscuits quickly appeared whilst we waited a short while for our room to be checked . Bramble the spaniel was welcomed in all public rooms and we were offered a table just outside the dining room should we not be able to leave her in the car whilst we eat..( could be useful in extreme cold or hot weather).Also an offer of dog bed and bowl...Our bedroom was very comfortable and the public rooms are smart, and reminiscent of a small country house hotel - all dressed for xmas it looked splendid. Food at dinner and breakfast excellent. A short walk from Canterbury town centre , yet very quiet..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyeater111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to know you had such an enjoyable stay and were able to relax after your horrendous journey.

We do upgrade all of our guests where possible and so glad that Bramble felt comfortable after being in the car for a long time.

I will pass your comments to my team and I am sure they join me in me wishing you all a Happy New Year, we hope that you will come back to see us all in the future.

Regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    397
    113
    44
    29
See reviews for
161
557
36
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

we attended a wedding reception here and for such an event it is a beautiful venue. i would highly recommend this old building which also has some nice grounds for super photo opportunities.however the bar was quite expensive and the food was very disappointing. while the bar menu looked very inviting, the set menu was very bland and even some seasoning would have gone a long way!

Helpful?
Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for your review.

The lovely Victorian Gothic style building is certainly a beautiful place to hold a wedding, we are very lucky to have the expanse of a garden so near the city centre.

Thank for your comments with regard to the wedding meal, I will pass your views to the Chef.

We do hope you will come back to visit us in 2014.

Regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Principally, the staff are incredibly welcoming, efficient and friendly. They are also well informed as even the maintenance man greeted my wife by name as she met him on coming out of our room. We were there only one night but very well looked after. The room (we were upgraded as holders of a Best Western members card) was lovely and large and the breakfast was well cooked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review.

We do like to ensure that all our guests are made to feel at home, my staff have great personalities and offer excellent customer service.

We would like to wish you a Merry Christmas and hope you will visit us again in 2014.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed at the Abbott's Barton a few nights ago after attending a wedding hosted at the Hotel back in the summer. Having previously been left disappointed by a number of Canterbury's 'venues', I was very impressed initially with the greeting that I received at the AB and subsequently, the quality of the room that I found (upgraded from single to double room, free of charge). The hotel is a short distance from town - which was perfect - and I have to say, the breakfast was excellent!! Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review on your recent stay. We are pleased you had a great time and enjoyed a hearty breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, we wish you a Happy Christmas from us all at AB.

Best regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The room was fine, decor quite dated but clean. Breakfast fine, though finished at 10am on a Sunday which is quite early.

Not worth the £109 price tag - next time I would stay in the Travelodge or Premiere Inn down the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with regard to value for money for your stay in our three star traditional style décor hotel.

My team and I would like to wish you a Merry Christmas.

Regards

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydd, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Myself and 6 colleagues were privileged to stay overnight at Canterbury's prestige hotel. This delightful building sent in well manicured gardens boast magnificently appointed rooms. Although we were elsewhere for our seasonal fayre, the comfort we all enjoyed, the excellent service and splendid breakfast capped off a great weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveCatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thank for your delightful review, my team and I were pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Happy Christmas,

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Barton Hotel

Property: Abbots Barton Hotel
Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing