We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't even get as far as booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbots Barton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Didn't even get as far as booking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Incompetant receptionist. I asked whether breakfast was included in their rates because it was not clear to me from their website - I was put on hold for a while then my enquiry was completely ignored and I was asked what day I wished to book in! I'm afraid I didn't go any further - such lack of customer care did not bode well for any visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hairgluh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your comment, usually I reply to guests who have stayed at the hotel, so this is a new one for me.

On speaking to the receptionist involved with your call, it seems that she did not have the booking screen open and asked you in a polite manner to hold while she opened the booking system on the computer to find the rate. On doing this she would have required a booking date as rates do vary throughout, plus we have room only, bed & breakfast and dinner, bed & breakfast rates, therefore she was merely asking for the details and did not expect to be met with such abruptness.
The reception team are here to help and offer good customer service, however, information is vital from any potential guest to ascertain the best availabe rate for that day.

We would not like to give our guests false information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    397
    113
    44
    29
See reviews for
161
557
36
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a lovely hotel and super staff to have so close to the city centre, I know there is a travelodge being built very close by, but ignore it, go for something a lot nicer and with far more character. The hotel stands probably only 15 minutes stroll from the beautiful City of Canterbury, and after a full english at the hotel, a stroll is a very good idea :) Anyway back to the start of our two day visit, on arrival we were greeted by an extremely friendly member of staff, who informed us that our room had been upgraded and was ready for us; and considering we were an hour and half early that was a real bonus. The room was excellent, lovely big comfy king size bed, beautifully clean and spacious. We ate out in the city, but as I said earlier the breakfast the next morning set us up to for the day, along side the full english was the usual continental style breakfasts. The hotel is well off the road, so is nice and quiet. My only reason for dropping to very good instead of excellent, is unfortunately the view from our window looked out upon what looked like "a derelict building site" think money ran out on another venture, which is very sad.

Room Tip: Room 317 is lovely minus the view :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your "super shopping trip" to our fair city of Canterbury.

I have passed your comments to my team, who are all very pleased you enjoyed your visit and would like to wish you a" Happy Christmas".

The rear of the hotel is indeed going through changes and the "derelict building site" to which you refer will be incoporated in the hotels new extension plans very shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This review is based only on a training venue.
I had training on 19th/20th November in the conference room.
On arrive there was no smiling or greeting from reception (On either day) I wasn't ackowledged at all.
This was also mentioned by other people.
From the facilities that I saw all were kept well and clean, I was impressed with the toilet.
The lunch served was okay, a simple sandwich buffet.
Although a lady on my table couldnt eat what was on offer due to allergies, She asked a young lad for another alternative and he responded by saying ''i dont make sanwiches''
The course leader spoke to the kitchen and the lady was made a simple cheese sandwich, although who bought it out couldnt have been more condescending if she tried! This information was,told to hotel previously.
The next day was better, more choice and sandwiches for that lady.
Overall the hotel staff could do with customer service training, I hope this
improves when I return in December.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ckaps83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent attendance at a meeting at the hotel.

It is very unusual for the receptionists to ignore visitors to the hotel, the desk is quite high and they may have not genuinley noticed you had they been on the phone or working on bookings.There was also a large amount of people in the foyer at the time. I will bring this to the Reception Managers attention, so she will speak to the team to improve for the future.

With regard to the lunch,the company had not notified the hotel at any time about dietry requirements. This is something we are very proactive on and always ask clients when making bookings which include food.However, I do apologise on how the waiting staff dealt with this request as this is certainly not our normal practice. I will speak to the Restaurant Manager who will action more customer service training. I assure you this will improve for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Clean hotel through out, reception check in was excellent, not too much fuss but perfect with information of hotel and local area, situated just 10min walk into the town with ample parking a great location to visit this area. We found the bathroom not the best bath size pretty small, mattress on the bed very soft could be bit firmer but then this is a personal preference, breakfast: day one fine, even though food not too warm the display containers didn't keep foods hot! The second day at breakfast there was more staff on duty (6) a total difference no organisation the team appeared to be un coordinated, my partner ordered poached eggs as soon as we arrived in the restaurant, 35 minutes later after asking again they arrived!, we requested tea and toast twice also, overall a nice hotel, food was nice could be better at breakfast(warmer and appropriate utensils to serve-tongues for bacon for example) bar person non descriptive, customer approach and engagement needs working on.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ukphilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I have taken note of your comments with regard to staff and service at breakfast in order for the hotel to deliver an improved experience.

I do hope you will return should you visit Canterbury in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and for a three star establishment it is very good. It has a largish car park and is within 10 minutes walk of the city centre. Staff are friendly and efficient. The hotel was however very hot. The restaurant is ok but there are so many good restaurants in town, it doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for returning to the hotel and very pleased your stay was a pleasurable one.

The city centre is only a short walk away from the hotel and it is always nice to experience different restaurants as well as our own Fountain restaurant within the hotel, which offers excellent locally sourced produce.

We hope to see you on your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is within 10minutes walk of the city centre, 15mins walk from the Cathedral. The staff were all helpful, pleasant and knew their subject. The breakfast was fresh and tasty, we had an evening meal in the Fountain Restaurant and it was 1st class, excellent produce freshly prepared and extremely tasty. Lastly, the room was warm, clean, spacious and comfortable. I've stayed in several different hotels on many trips to Canterbury, this is by far the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highlander1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and Canterbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from spending 2 nights at the Abbots Barton Hotel. Nice double room with ensuite bathroom... Had to turn the radiator off as although it was cold outside we found the room too hot...
It is about an 7/8 minute walk into the city. Shopping is brilliant in Canterbury. We also visited the catherdral which was stunning inside. The entrance fee is £9.50 for adults but if you go to one of the many services on a Sunday you get in free. We ate at on one of the evenings, which is a family run restaurant in the heart of the city. Would definetley recommend it but you must book in advance... All in all a great hotel although a little dated but in quiet position near the city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsgm, General Manager at Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Many thanks for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, which dates back to 1830, hence the old tradtional style of decor, inkeeping with the Gothic period. We feel this marries perfectly with the city of Canterbury and all the quaint historical buildings within the city wall.

A short walk as you say and it is all there, shops, restaurants and many many tourist attractions.

We do hope you will return in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Chistine Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Barton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Barton Hotel

Property: Abbots Barton Hotel
Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing