We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and Comfort in a fantastic House”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cee67
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and Comfort in a fantastic House”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

The Hayloft offers every comfort and lots of space for a family getaway. We went with our 6 and 9 yr old daughters and my 85 year old mother-in-law and had a great weekend. Loads of space, great kitchen, easy ground floor room for those who can't do stairs. Lovely local pubs, great farm shop. And lovely friendly owners. We barely put our noses outside as the weather was not great but that didn't matter as the house was so good to loll around in and read/ play games in. There are so many places to explore nearby so we must return to do that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and layout, warmth and comfort, fab location, kind and friendly people
Liked least: not applicabel
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35Fivewal...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas break”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A delightful property, nicely decorated for the festive season on our arrival. Excellent quality facilities with plenty of space for the family to feel at home and relax.
Good location for both the coast and Canterbury.
One of the best properties we have stopped in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of property, plenty of space
Liked least: Wifi was provided by a range extender, which kept droping the signal out
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie100
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend away”
Reviewed November 12, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in November 2015 for a weekend break. The Hayloft is a short drive from Canterbury and the coast but you really do not need to leave the house! It has three good sized rooms, one en suite and a large bathroom. It is immaculate. The owners are really friendly and checked that we had everything on arrival. We loved spending time in the sitting room watching TV and playing games. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turtle B
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just what you need and want when heading somewhere quiet.

Really great views and very clean and of s high spec.

Thank you very much.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy K
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A superb holiday home, equipped with everything you could possibly need! The kitchen was well equipped and spacious. The bedrooms were perfect too; the beds were very comfortable and bedding of a high quality!
Richard and Lyndsey were we're welcoming, helpful and friendly. They even lent us a bike to use while we were there. They also have a wicked sense of humour!!
A good central position in Kent enabling visits to Whitstable, Margate, Broadstairs and Canterbury!
Great place! Keep up the good work!
Girls from Brighton!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Slightly overlooked by hosts
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthurHay...
Haywards Heath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, perfect accommodation, perfect hosts”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The standard of the Hayloft is absolutely superb with attention to every detail. The hosts are so warm and welcoming and this is reflected in every aspect of the accommodation. The honeysuckle girls had a fabulous weekend and feel very privileged to have stayed at this location. Thank you Richard and Lyndsey for being perfect hosts. We will definitely be back. With all our thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail in making us feel so welcome and relaxed
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica A
Farringdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly scenic and relaxing stay”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed, as a three generation family, at the lovely Hayloft for 7 days. It was relaxing and enjoyable, with just enough nearby for the babies to enjoy their stay whilst also being calm and serene enough for the older generations! Richard and Lindsay were more than accommodating and assisted us with everything we needed (although most of the information you could need is outlined in helpful folders in the dining area). The twenty minute journey into Canterbury was ideal and allowed my partner and I to enjoy an evening out at the Lady Luck and even attend an impromptu Jive class! Overall a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: If I had to find a negative it would have to be the slightly poor WiFi signal however this seemed unimportant.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing