We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go to London theatres cheaper”

The Marlowe Theatre
Ranked #4 of 108 things to do in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“go to London theatres cheaper”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

To expensive new. moderm amd soleless amdexpemsive been to London theatres cheaper nicer atmosphere and better seats for half the prices

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    257
    97
    44
    41
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a lovely building and well organised too”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have visited the Marlowe twice recently and have enjoyed the visits immensely. Although the bar and foyer areas are busy before a production this is to be expected. I liked the toilets being availalbe on the grounds floor and so close to the theatre doors too. We popped over the road for a quick drink in the internal and this worked well too. Great evening out with staff that were friendly and efficient.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Salstrawberry44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Why did the old one go ?”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This theatre looks great from the outside but that really is about it. Lacks any atmosphere and must be some of the most uncomfortable seats in theatre land. Why oh why did they pull the old one down ? Total waste of money !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate on Sea
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Suggs was brilliant”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am a regular to the Marlowe and I love the venue. I consider us lucky to have a theatre that attracts a good mix of theatre music and tonight was a highlight for me - Suggs - My life story in words and music - OK I admit I am a fan of Madness but it really was a memorable night - funny poignant and very entertaining - well done Suggs and Well done Marlowe theatre

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“No leg room”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went to see Dirty Dancing and thought the show was enjoyable. However, I paid £75 each to get good seats in row A (circle) and whilst the view was superb the leg room was less than easy jet. Okay I am over 6 ft but my knees were crushed against the barrier in front of the seats, my wife is a great deal shorter and even she struggled for leg room. When I paid for these seats no mention was made of the restricted leg room and in my view it should be. My enjoyment of the show was spoilt by the cramped seating and not what I expect for £75 each.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rovingsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marlowe Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Marlowe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing