We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super, dog-friendly pub - enjoyable lunch”
Review of Two Sawyers

Two Sawyers
Ranked #120 of 372 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Description: Charming 18th century character pub in Canterbury serving fresh locally sourced food alongside a broad range of beers, ales and wines.
Bedfordshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Super, dog-friendly pub - enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Thank you to the all the staff (and Tia) for a brilliant lunch today : the food presentation & taste was excellent, really good range of beers and a warm welcome to us and our springer spaniel!

Looking forward to future visits to our daughter at the Uni accompanied by return vists to the Two Sawyers.

Definately worth heading slightly out of the centre to find this little gem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gent, België
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice little pub”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Friendly staff. Delicious pies. Nice and cosy atmosphere.
A bit outside the city centre, parking nearby.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnyDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A lovely little pub”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I was very impressed by the decor in this little pub which created a really cosy, friendly atmosphere. I found the service very friendly and efficient despite. There was a reasonable choice on the menu plus specials, the food was came out hot and was tasty. The only criticism would be that I found the portion size rather small (and I'm not a big eater). Other than this, I thought it was a great venue. Certainly a place to return for a drink at least.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BayB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening review”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The current owners are great. As a Devon boy, I appreciate the choice of real ciders, not the fizzy stuff. The food is all prepared on site, doesn't take long, and always has a twist on a popular theme.
I stay in the Travel Lodge next door, which has atrocious food for breakfast, etc, but the best staff ever. I eat next door in this pub, ambiance is great, quizzes, people, windows, fires, etc.
Has had a habit of closing over the past few years, so I hope the current owners keep it going, it is great.
The faggots could be better, they lack seasoning. Great fresh vegetables, not always chips.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice little local pub, great beer, nice staff”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The beer is very good with a nicely changing range of specials and the atmosphere is very nice. Haven't eaten here but the menu seems good value and the food being served looks like good pub grub so we'll try it soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTW-in-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Sawyers also viewed

 

Been to Two Sawyers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing