We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "Castle a Day" plan....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tours of the Realm-Day Tours

Tours of the Realm-Day Tours
Ranked #7 of 14 Tours in Canterbury
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The "Castle a Day" plan....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Intent on a thorough exploration of Kent we contacted Jane for advice. She helped craft an itinerary that enabled us to tour many sites on our own for 3 days using convenient rail service from our hotel in Canterbury, and then she escorted us for 2 days to the harder-to-reach places. With Jane we drove through Romney Marsh on our way to Rye, then on to Bodiam Castle, Leeds Castle, Chartwell, Hever Castle and Penshurst Place, with interim stops at several delightful pubs she had selected. Jane was lovely to spend time with and it was obvious she put in extra time to ensure the optimal use of our time. Her help and advice was instrumental in making the most of our visit to Kent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyM340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tours of the Realm very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Jane met us in Dover at the cruise terminal and we toured to Heathrow with her, stopping off at Canterbury Cathedral and a tea house for scones on the way there. She is and very informative and delightful company and she made sure that we arrived on time for our flights.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maxinea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock, arkansas
Level Contributor
1 review
“Tours of the Realm - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I vacationed in England to visit sites that were related to our ancestors as well as some other historical locations. In order to make the most of our time, I decided to use a guide. I found Jane Martin with Tours of the Realm and sent her some information about the locations we wanted to see. She planned our trip and was able to find our very remote locations...far off the beaten path. She added background history, contacted vicars and pub owners to arrange for our access to buildings we wanted to see, helped me with Euror star information (since we begin our vacation in France) and recommended places to stay. Having her drive us was wonderful...we didn't have to worry about the traffic and were able to watch the lovely scenery along the country roads of Kent and the Cotswolds. After two days, we arranged for her to drop us off at Warwick where we caught the train and finished our vacation visiting London on our own. It was a great vacation!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank macypurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the Kent Countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Jane met us at the ship in Dover and took us on a tour of some really pleasant little villages that we would not have discovered on a "ship's tour". Tea & bisquits from the "boot" of her car overlooking a quaint canal and bear in a delightful Pub made us feeel very special. This really is the best way for a few friends to get a good taste of the local life--especially when your time is limited. I am a professional tour guide and can say that "Tours of the Realm" was just brilliant!!
Brava, Jane!!

Pamela Egloff
Miami FL & Basle CH

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skinquarter, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour of Dover and Canterbury - Tours of the Realm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My mother and I had a terrific time touring the Kent and Dover countryside with Jane (Tours of the Realm Tours). She was very informative and put us at ease from the moment we met her at the train station. She was very attentive and ensured that her tour met our expectations. She is an excellent guide and I highly recommend her.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours of the Realm-Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tours of the Realm-Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing