We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful B&B with exceptional hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magnolia House

Magnolia House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia House
Ranked #59 of 78 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Bermuda
1 review
“A beautiful B&B with exceptional hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

Magnolia House is simply lovely. The room was beautifully decorated and stocked with every little thing that a traveller could want. The made to order breakfasts every morning were delicious! The management and staff went above and beyond to make sure that a visit to the charming town of Canterbury was well worth it. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
45
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

Isobelle offers the sort of quality service one would hope to get in all British B&B's, but which is sadly seen so rarely. The rooms are immaculate, with great showers that offer endless hot water; the breakfast was sensational, and Magnolia House seems to run like a fine Swiss watch. Isobelle also made some great recommendations for restaurants (and yes, you really DO need to book a table practically anywhere in Canterbury) and was on hand with tips and advice when you needed it. A quality operation...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markf365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east anglia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

One of the best of the many B&Bs we have visited over the years. Very warm welcome from Isabelle and nothing was too much trouble. This is the first time we have provided a review but we felt we must because our experience was in such a contrast to some of the reviews here. Morning papers are an option. 9.15 latest breakfast was O.K for us. Easy access from major roads and we found the stroll into the town centre no problem. Perhaps the Houses limited car parking may be a minor problem when all rooms are booked.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfpairuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twopah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

There is something odd about this place. It is difficult to define, but there is definatly something not quite right.

  • Liked — Good T.V. reception
  • Disliked — A misleading star rating.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank twopah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

If your planning a trip to Canterbury, this is the place to stay.
they are so welcoming, nothing is to much trouble the rooms all have a little fridge with complimentary drinks and they have real coffee in every room.
The breakfast was amazing, all the food was locally sourced, and there's a great choice pus there's a wonderful garden.
I have travelled far and wide but this is lovely B&B. Well worth a stay.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Saraf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

This B&B is way to pricey for what it offers.
The B&B is centrally located. It takes you about 10 minutes walk into town.
Our room, the garden room, faced the car drive and behind that the neighbour's garden. We did not like the interior of the room, but that is a matter of taste. The design looked old-fashioned, but not in a charming way. It felt a bit like visiting someone's grandmother. The room was very clean though.
The owner had a very strange air about her and we could not get things right. The car was parked in the wrong place, we should not drive into town by car and we should go to a restaurant not to a pub (she recommended a very nice place to us though!).
Breakfast was disappointing. We had to get up early on Sunday, because the last serve was at 9.15. The croissants were reheated supermarked-ones and you could chose only one item from the buffet (either cereals or fruit) and not go again. The breakfast form gave the impression of a large choice of things, but in the end you could chose hardly anything, so I left hungry.
All in all it felt greedy. 125 Pounds for what?? The night before we had stayed in a beautiful B&B, in which everything was brandnew and had a fantastic, large breakfast for 80 Pounds. We will not go there again.

  • Liked — It was very clean
  • Disliked — Overpriced and not that friendly
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank defseptermber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2007

The Magnolia House is a charming Bed & Breakfast in great city. We went primarily to see the cathedral, but the city really did charm us. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which was wonderful. The bedroom had a large four poster bed that was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was large and very well stocked. The garden was lovely and a nice place to enjoy tea in the afternnon. Isabelle, the proprietress was very friendly and offered wonderful sightseeing and dining recommendations (be sure and eat at the Goods Shed and The Weavers Inn). We arrived early in the morning expecting to have to wait for our room, but it was ready and waiting. The breakfasts were very fresh and filling. I would highly recommend the Magnolia House.

  • Liked — The room was large and very clean.
  • Disliked — It is a little hike to the center of town, but not too bad.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#7 of 78 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#56 of 78 in Canterbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arthouse b + b
Arthouse b + b
#35 of 78 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#2 of 78 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House

Property: Magnolia House
Address: 36 St. Dunstans Terrace, Canterbury CT2 8AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Magnolia House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five star gold award winning Georgian home, set in a quiet residential street ten minutes stroll from Canterbury city centre. It is close to the universities and public schools and is ideally situated for exploring the city, coastline or Kent countryside and is an ideal location for short breaks, long weekends or business trips. All of the guest bedrooms have been professionally designed with a close eye to detail to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnolia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing