We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homely and welcoming”
Review of Magnolia House

Magnolia House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia House
Ranked #61 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days and was very happy with the lovely quiet location but only 10 minutes walk to the centre of Canterbury. Room was very well equipped with nice touches in the bathroom and individual bottles of wine, beer and water in the fridge. The room and bathroom were smaller than expected but very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely - very fresh with good quality ingredients. Owner was very welcoming and helpful regarding eateries etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

Pretty house handy for Canterbury. The double room we shared was very small and extremely cluttered with bric a brac. The large bed (2 x 3ft. singles together) was in need of new bedding, duvet was old and lumpy and pillows not good. Pillow slips appeared not to have been ironed. Good fridge with individual bottle of wine, water, mints.

The rest of the house was dark and the stairs very steep, there was a lot of clutter as well.


Nice breakfast happily served with lots of choice in room overlooking pretty garden, available to guests. Rain stopped that however!

Not enough parking when B & B is full. I had to park some way down the road as it is residents parking only. Not advised about this, which is important to me. Owner quite cavalier about this.

Would not stay again. Plenty of B & Bs. in the area to choose from

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vixmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I was looking for somewhere to stay I would feel safe and comfortable as I was staying on my own. This b and b was wonderful. The owner was very warm and helpful. The room was cosy and clean with everything you could want in it. You even had complimentary wine, water and beer plus a range of hot drinks including fresh ground coffee. Amazing! Very quiet too and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was served quickly and was delicious. Very close to the city centre and parking available which is a must for staying in Canterbury. Will always stay here when visiting Canterbury.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euja6919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast had just what I was looking for. English/britsih furnitures and style, wonderful China Bone, quiet and lovely. Very friendly owner, excellent Breakfast and service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeneAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Would certainly recommend this guest house and would stay again. Comfortable bed, quiet room, dressing gowns provided and lots of nice personal touches. I had the smoked haddock for breakfast which was delicious.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was a pretty room, quiet (which was important for us).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanandlorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Arrived in the morning, made extremely welcome. House and rooms exceptionally decorated, very clean with everything you could wish for in the room. I would recommend the Magnolia house to anyone who want to stay in Canterbury.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The attention to detail that Isobelle creates is nothing short of amazing.
Clearly a love of providing a showcase of her tastes and styles, which in a privately owned B&B makes a nice change from chain properties.
Fantastic quality ingredients at breakfast and piping hot.
Very comfy bed in thre garden room - personal taste aside, an all round good package, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serviceisessential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.5 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,018 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
751 reviews
3.9 mi away
Evenhill
Evenhill
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
388 reviews
7.7 mi away
Heathwood Lodge
Heathwood Lodge
#2 of 2 in Stelling Minnis
27 reviews
7.9 mi away
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House

Address: 36 St. Dunstans Terrace, Canterbury CT2 8AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: $60 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Magnolia House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five star gold award winning Georgian home, set in a quiet residential street ten minutes stroll from Canterbury city centre. It is close to the universities and public schools and is ideally situated for exploring the city, coastline or Kent countryside and is an ideal location for short breaks, long weekends or business trips. All of the guest bedrooms have been professionally designed with a close eye to detail to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnolia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing