We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So kitsch but great !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Canterbury Tales

The Canterbury Tales
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.64*
and up
The Canterbury Tales: Standard Day Entry
Ranked #9 of 106 things to do in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Travel with "Chaucer" and his band of pilgrims from the Tabard Inn in London to Canterbury Cathedral. Our costumed characters will introduce you to what is arguably the most famous collection of tales written in Medieval Britain. The handheld audio guide will then lead you through our stunning recreation of medieval England and lead you into five of Chaucer's most loved tales. These are tales of unrequited love, attempts at cheating death, bawdy infidelity and the chance to discover what every woman wants. . .Still as engaging for today's audiences as they were 600 years ago. Laugh with us and learn with us! The Canterbury Tales visitor attraction is the only attraction in the UK dedicated to this famous piece of English literature and is an essential addition to any Canterbury itinerary. Foreign language audio guides are available, as is a children's version (toning down the rather bawdy nature of the tales). This is also recommended for guests learning English. Under 5s are admitted free of charge but please be advised that children of a nervous disposition may find the low lighting and realistic models a little intimidating.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“So kitsch but great !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We absolutely loved this - just take it for what it is. Having memories of trying to get to grips with the real Chaucer dialect when at school 50 years ago, this brought back so many memories. I loved the stories, especially the Pardoner's Tale. It is certainly a great way of bringing to life the history of the pilgrimages to Canterbury and ties in well with lots of the other "must see" sights in the city. The staff at the venue are absolutely charming and obviously love what they do. Well done.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank judyh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review! We really do appreciate it, and will ensure the staff get to hear such positive comments too. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    310
    159
    57
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“what a dissapointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Took my 12 year old daughter here on bank holiday monday, We visited the cathedral first so we had discount vouchers for this attraction and only paid £12 and not the full price. The whole visit lasted about 25 minutes, and was not worth the money. The stories were interesting, but i found the smells quite offensive and not really necessary. Unrealistic looking plastic models!. For what they are charging i feel sure they could do better. One to avoid, if you dont want to be ripped off.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments - naturally we are disappointed to hear them. We receive much positive feedback in relation to the smells - we think a medieval stable should smell as life like as possible! The visit lasts 40 minutes from start to finish, and we hope to be able to extend this in future with the addition of our live guides. All feedback is welcome, so we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I visited the 'Tales as part of a group of friends as an after work thing-to-do. We were welcomed by a very enthusiastic member of staff who was entertaining and engaging. We were then set to looking around the attraction itself, which takes the form of a selection of waxwork models and plasticky sets with lighthearted versions of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales narrated over audio guides. The final part of the visit had another costumed member of staff sharing an amusing and very animated version of the story of Thomas Becket.

What I was struck by here is that the main bulk of the attraction was well... not great, but the bits where the staff were doing the talking was very good indeed. In my opinion, this attraction would be a million times better if the audioguides were all thrown in the bin, and instead customers were shown around by the staff, who could narrate the tales to visitors. The two staff members we spoke to were witty, entertaining, and genuinely talented. I think they'd do a great job of telling the Canterbury Tales, and could really transform this attraction into a must visit. Without their input, it would have been pretty dire.

Just a thought. Maybe something for the management to think about if they read this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. We introduced our costumed guides at the end of March - to date they have been extremely well received, and "the management" are certainly considering ways in which we can build on this experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun little visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

A nice way to start off a visit to Canterbury. Accept this for what it is, just a bit of fun, nothing high brow here, we really enjoyed the light hearted approach. Handy if you know the Canterbury Tales before you visit but not essential.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank firstfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Many thanks for your review - we are in agreement this is a good way to start your visit to Canterbury! Certainly not essential to have read the tales beforehand - you may even be inspired to buy a copy fron our gift shop afterwards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very poor not worth the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was an attraction I had wanted to see every time I went to Canterbury and this time I was going to go as our guide had told us it was well worth visiting. Would I advise anyone else to go NO. I have never been so disappointed with an attraction so much in my life. The stories were OK however the figures looked as if they had been made by a nursery school at £7-50 for senior citizens it can only be described as a rip off. NOT TO BE RECOMMENDED.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank patprice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Naturally we are disappointed to read your review. We have made some fantastic changes in the last couple of months with the introduction of our costumed guides, which we think really help bring the tales to life. However, all feedback is welcomed, and we thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canterbury Tales also viewed

 

Been to The Canterbury Tales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing