We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good laugh!”

The Canterbury Tales
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.66*
and up
The Canterbury Tales: Standard Day Entry
More Info
$769.46*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral, and White Cliffs...
Ranked #10 of 111 things to do in Canterbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Travel with "Chaucer" and his band of pilgrims from the Tabard Inn in London to Canterbury Cathedral. Our costumed characters will introduce you to what is arguably the most famous collection of tales written in Medieval Britain. The handheld audio guide will then lead you through our stunning recreation of medieval England and lead you into five of Chaucer's most loved tales. These are tales of unrequited love, attempts at cheating death, bawdy infidelity and the chance to discover what every woman wants. . .Still as engaging for today's audiences as they were 600 years ago. Laugh with us and learn with us! The Canterbury Tales visitor attraction is the only attraction in the UK dedicated to this famous piece of English literature and is an essential addition to any Canterbury itinerary. Foreign language audio guides are available, as is a children's version (toning down the rather bawdy nature of the tales). This is also recommended for guests learning English. Under 5s are admitted free of charge but please be advised that children of a nervous disposition may find the low lighting and realistic models a little intimidating.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

So nicely presented, loved the voices and effects and would appeal to all age groups. Don't need to have read the Canterbury Tales to benefit from the whole experience.

Thank Joya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review - we are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
There are newer reviews for The Canterbury Tales
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 790 of 994 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having decided to visit we booked our tickets online which got us a 20% discount. The website was helpful and useful.

I really enjoyed the visit. It was shorter than I had expected, at around 40 minutes but really fun. It was a different way to hear the Canterbury Tales and seemed authentic in places with the sounds and smells. The staff were really friendly and it was easy to navigate and know when to move on. We were also given a time to go around by ourselves which was nice as it was not too crowded.

I am glad I have been and from visiting would probably buy the book that the tales are based on and would recommend it to other visitors if you are interested in the stories.

2  Thank TessicaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review - its always great to hear that the visit may inspire you to buy the book! We hope to see you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Strange but fun! It passed about 45 minutes and I learnt a bit about Chaucer's Canterbury Tales. You could sum it up as English eccentricity! Don't take it too seriously and you'll love it! Staff were fantastic and as entertaining as the tour!

2  Thank HeritageHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - its always lovely to get feedback about our staff, so thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We found this a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The story teller over the handsets did a great job, kept us amused for the duration of the visit. Not really any negatives.

1  Thank DJLERhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review - we're really pleased you enjoyed the visit. Hope to see you on another trip to Canterbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

if you have the time because it is a fun way of boning up on and and introducing children to Chaucer and the Canterbury Tales. You can wander through the exhibition using the commentary handset and listen to five of the tales accompanied by life size expressive figures.
If you do the guided walk of Canterbury - recommended- you will be given a voucher with discounts for attractions including The Canterbury Tales

Thank mlswjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Many thanks for leaving a review of your experience. We are pleased you felt the visit was worth recommending - we take on board your comments re: tired - as we enter our 25th year in 2013, we hope to reawaken the attraction!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canterbury Tales also viewed

 

Been to The Canterbury Tales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing