We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of money”

The Canterbury Tales
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.96*
and up
The Canterbury Tales: Standard Day Entry
Ranked #10 of 108 things to do in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Travel with "Chaucer" and his band of pilgrims from the Tabard Inn in London to Canterbury Cathedral. Our costumed characters will introduce you to what is arguably the most famous collection of tales written in Medieval Britain. The handheld audio guide will then lead you through our stunning recreation of medieval England and lead you into five of Chaucer's most loved tales. These are tales of unrequited love, attempts at cheating death, bawdy infidelity and the chance to discover what every woman wants. . .Still as engaging for today's audiences as they were 600 years ago. Laugh with us and learn with us! The Canterbury Tales visitor attraction is the only attraction in the UK dedicated to this famous piece of English literature and is an essential addition to any Canterbury itinerary. Foreign language audio guides are available, as is a children's version (toning down the rather bawdy nature of the tales). This is also recommended for guests learning English. Under 5s are admitted free of charge but please be advised that children of a nervous disposition may find the low lighting and realistic models a little intimidating.
wimbledon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My eldest daughter missed visting this attraction on a school trip due to illness. As such we thought we would take her when we were in town. Quite expensive. You pass through a number of old and tatty tableaux whilst listening to abridged versions of Chaucer's tales. Not educational at all. Toilets dirty. Give it a miss.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank womble5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Many thanks for leaving a review. Naturally we are disappointed you didn't enjoy your visit. We pride ourselves on offering a high standard of guest satisfaction, as such your comments regarding the cleanliness of the toilets have been addressed immediately.
We still believe that the tales offer a good level of education for those aged 5+.
We appreciate all feedback, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    322
    166
    59
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

im local and went with a friend hoping to have a fun afternoon. quite expensive, at one point our group was looking at totally the wrong figures and so the commentary made little sense. People not over friendly. We were spat out in little under an hour which was disappointing as for the money it was too short, and it would have been a nightmare with small children because if i'd taken mine i know he would have been bored senseless. all comentary is on a hand held set, and in my experience smaller children wouldnt' have the patience or inclination to stand and listen

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review - naturally we are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy the visit.
We recommend that it is suitable for children aged over 5 - we find that they enjoy dressing up in medieval costume - and even have a special version of the commentary to listen to.
All feedback is appreciated, so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I thought this attraction is over priced, the exhibits look pretty dated and there is little use of technology. Also, if you are ill/disabled/pregnant then it is not great as there is little opportunity to sit down. The only good thing is that it doesn't last long. Might be all right for children.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for leaving a review. Naturally we are disappointed that you didn't enjoy the visit. We are approaching our 25th year of operation and to celebrate, have some interesting plans that will breathe a fresh lease of life into the attraction.
This is certainly not an all singing/dancing technological visitor attraction - the aim is to recreate an accurate version of medieval life, and we use only the technology necessary to do this (very clever lighting for example).
There are several opportunities to sit as you journey round - given the space constraints with the church, there are limited additional places we could install seating.
The attraction does appeal to all ages - children enjoy dressing up in costume and listening to the special childrens commentary.
All feedback is appreciated, so thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

After a bit of a poor start, (not being able to book online and a very unhelpful clerk on the day of our visit) we were duly given our instructions and wandered through. It's very quirky and funny with good humour, although I have to say I was a little bit scared!!! Very realistic at points

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlenePell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed it after a rocky start! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is set up so well, and we enjoyed all the Tales! It would be a great place for children to learn about the history of the times, and I can remember being told the Tales when I was a child, so seeing them enacted was excellent

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Many thanks for such a positive review. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canterbury Tales also viewed

 

Been to The Canterbury Tales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing