We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaucer would have been embarrassed.”

The Canterbury Tales
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$13.34*
and up
The Canterbury Tales: Standard Day Entry
More Info
$751.39*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral, and White Cliffs...
Ranked #10 of 110 things to do in Canterbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Travel with "Chaucer" and his band of pilgrims from the Tabard Inn in London to Canterbury Cathedral. Our costumed characters will introduce you to what is arguably the most famous collection of tales written in Medieval Britain. The handheld audio guide will then lead you through our stunning recreation of medieval England and lead you into five of Chaucer's most loved tales. These are tales of unrequited love, attempts at cheating death, bawdy infidelity and the chance to discover what every woman wants. . .Still as engaging for today's audiences as they were 600 years ago. Laugh with us and learn with us! The Canterbury Tales visitor attraction is the only attraction in the UK dedicated to this famous piece of English literature and is an essential addition to any Canterbury itinerary. Foreign language audio guides are available, as is a children's version (toning down the rather bawdy nature of the tales). This is also recommended for guests learning English. Under 5s are admitted free of charge but please be advised that children of a nervous disposition may find the low lighting and realistic models a little intimidating.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a very poor attempt at the reenactment of The Canterbury Tales. The tales are told through the use of a phone type commentary and mechanical and static displays. The production is dated and amateurish and not worth the £8.00 fee.

Thank gmacor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are naturally disappointed you didn't enjoy your visit. Our aim is to bring Chaucer's most famous literary works to life - in a fun, yet educational way - remaining sympathetic to the core meanings behind Chaucer's tales.
We take on board your comment that it appears to be a little outdated - as we celebrate 25 years in 2013, we have plans to bring the attraction to life even further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 825 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

You pick up a telephone and wait. A walk begins from London to Canterbury, it starts in a pub where a waxwork takes you through the story there are sounds smells different stories with famous people. There are places to sit down and listen to stories and it is a bit scary at the start of it.

1  Thank Rem36_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Many thanks for your positive review - we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. Come back and see us in 2013 as we celebrate 25 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I did not know what to expect and this was nothing like I could have imagined. It was absolutely fantastic, a bit spooky and comical in places. The models were so life-like I kept expecting them to move I would say it is not suitable for children, they would'nt really get the meaning of the tales and it was very scary for young children being very dark and eerie. I can highly recommend this, a very enjoyable hour and well worth the entrance fee.

1  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, I'm really pleased you enjoyed it. We do appeal to some children, we have a special childrens commentary & can even provide costumes to dress up in, so we find that this can often distract from the dark or "spooky side".

I really appreciate you taking the time to leave a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The friendly staff give (well sell!) you a handset and you walk through various tablaux telling Chaucer's tales. The models are fine and the settings are what you would expect, but after about four tales it was getting very 'same-ey' and we decided to leave. Perhaps it just isn't our sort of thing.

Thank archaeologyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback. Its always disappointing when we don't get it quite right for everyone. We are hoping to make some changes in 2013 (to celebrate our 25th anniversary) to make the experience more interactive - perhaps I could encourage you to come back next year to see if its more your thing? I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

It had been many years since I'd been to The Canterbury Tales so when I visited recently I had a very pleasant surprise at just how much fun it is. I went along with my two teenage children and although they are both history buffs I wondered what they would make of it.

Well both came away singing its praises - they thought the attraction really helped to bring Chaucer's tales to life in a fun and entertaining way. When we got there a small party of foreign students was just about to start the tour so we hooked onto the end of their group. Armed with our commentary handsets, we set off and it was not long before we really felt ourselves getting caught up in the storytelling.

There are quite a few saucy bits of dialogue during the tales - not to mention naked bottoms poking out of windows - and we all had a good giggle, including the foreign students.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable visit and good value for money too.

1  Thank JCS956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thanks so much for your positive review - lets hope you don't forget about us again for too long and we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canterbury Tales also viewed

 

Been to The Canterbury Tales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing